My Reviews (120)

Chicken Fried Rice with Thai Basil

This is a great use for left over rice. It is a staple dish in the Thai diet. Adjust the spices to your own tastes.
Reviews (120)


24 Sep 2016
Reviewed by: independantsts
simple, easy and delicious. We doubled the liquid.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2016
Reviewed by: nupur
This came out real good! Very authentic. Only modification I made was I threw in some Napa cabbage and green beans and I added lemongrass paste to the soy/fish sauce. Pretty good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jul 2016
Reviewed by: Christina Howell
This is so delicious and easy! only a little spicy, I like it hot so I'll probably add more peppers next time. I love Thai food, but every other recipe I've tried to cook turned out off. This recipe didn't need any modifications though I did end up adding a little more oyster sauce and fish sauce because it looked a little pale. this is a keeper. I'll be making this again for sure!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2016
Reviewed by: Artika
I fried the chicken in 5tbspn olive oil - added basil 30 sec before adding rice. Then mixed rice to the mixture. Add salt to taste
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jul 2016
Reviewed by: Corey Thurmond Hall
So yummy, and super easy. I followed the suggestion to cut the fish and oyster oils in half and add soy sauce. I added the liquids AFTER the chicken and veggies were cooked, then added the rice and basil. I didn't have the peppers on hand, so we didn't get the heat. But still SO VERY GOOD. Tastes like my favorite Thai restaurant in the Atlanta area.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: Radhika
I put less oil and only 1 tablespoon of oyster sauce and 1 table spoon of fish sauce but added about 3 to 4 tablespoons of soy sauce. I am a vegetarian so I didn't try it but all my family loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 May 2016
Reviewed by: somphong
I usually don't stir fry with rice, rather pour it on top of streamed rice. Add two crispy sunny-side-ups. Stir fired rice best is best served with sliced cucumbers, green onions to reduce greasiness and or saltiness.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Apr 2016
Reviewed by: Jeanne
I have Thai basil growing in my aerogarden and was looking for a recipe to use it that didn't have curry, since my husband won't eat anything with curry. This turned out great. We both loved it. Next time I will cut the oil in half to lower the calories.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: homesbydestini
I was intimidated by Asian cuisine but this recipe was really easy. I follow the extra advise given by Carey and added soy sauce to the oil/pepper/garlic after frying a bit and I cut the fish/oyster sauce in 1/2. I also added mushrooms and green onion to mine. The only issue I had was with my rice. Jasmine rice takes longer to cook than regular white rice, so we had to wait an additional 30 mins before adding it to the chicken and veggies. My teenage kids LOVED it. I think I will try more Asian recipes from this site. Thanks Carey for the advise!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: Lisa Salt
I've been searching for years for a good fried rice recipe and finally found it right here. Thank you!! I actually used coconut oil instead of peanut oil and palm sugar instead of white sugar and it worked great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes