My Reviews (724)

Vegetable and Red Lentil Soup

A combination of great vegetables including sweet potato, carrots and an apple, this winter pureed soup will warm you up on the inside while still protecting the waistline. The yoghurt can be substituted for feta or a non-dairy alternative.
Reviews (724)


21 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: ant_queen
This soup is so creamy and delicious. The spices give it real warmth. Perfect for winter. I like my soup thick, so only got 3 serves. You could probably stretch it further if you water it down.
 
21 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: lauren
There are two good reasons why this recipe is a 5-star meal: First, at any given time, the average health-conscious person has all of these ingredients in her kitchen, which makes it so convenient. And second, the flavors and spices are spot on! I've made it several times as is and I feel like I can now mention my own twists on the original. One, replace the butter with equal amount coconut oil for a healthier fat and complimentary flavor with the ginger. Two, don't puree it! It is such a pretty stew as is! And three, the last five minutes of simmering, throw in about 4 cups of fresh, chopped spinach for a boost in color and nutrients. Take my word for it--this recipe is worth making!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: RzzMTzz
Delicious! I didn't puree it, instead I just made it like a stew. Everyone who tasted it thought it was great. Def will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Dissonata
This soup is sooooo great! I made it vegan by using olive oil instead of butter and also omitted the yogurt. I also cut salt by using low-sodium broth, and found that I did not need to add salt to season when it was done. Lovely, hearty, and filling. I really liked the mild sweetness with a bit of heat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Jackie Barnes
This was very good, although I made just a few changes. I used ginger powder, because I didn't have fresh, and I substituted olive oil for butter. I also added several cloves of garlic, minced, and a few parsnips I had left over, and I did NOT puree the soup, because I do not like the texture of pureed soup. I served it over a mixture of brown and white basmati rice. This made a wonderful, hearty, vegan meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Afro Curly Girl
This recipe was really yummy! I was a little skeptical mixing apples, onions, carrots, sweet potatoes and lentils together, but it turned out be so good and hearty. I followed the recipe to the letter and did not deviate on any of the measurements. My husband is not a big soup person, but he loved it so much, he went back for seconds! My kids, ages 5 & 6, loved it too! The plain yogurt added a really good kick, although it probably would have been good with sour cream as well. I will definitely keep this recipe in the file. :-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Niroszyckame
Delicious soup!! I changed the prep method up though. I coarsely chopped up all the veggies and apple and tossed them in a lightly sprayed roasting pan, I then lightly sprayed them and seasonsed them with all the spices. I roasted them for 30 minutes at 400 degrees. I then tossed all the roasted veggies in a pot with the lentils and vegetable stock and simmered until the lentils were done and then pureed. Turned out amazing and cut the fat having not used any butter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Mona
I always put carrots in my lentil soup so when I saw this used apples and sweet potato it sounded good. I made a big batch using the whole lb package of those grey-green lentils and increased other items accordingly. I didnt puree it. Left other ingrediants in chunks which is helpful to know for those without a blender. The family wants me to make lots more of it this fall and winter!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: JESIJEAN
This was so good that I didn't want anyone else to eat it but me! I made it for my roommates and they all raved. I made it just like the recipe, and served it with yogurt and a sprinkle of paprika for a nice look Nest time I make it I might add more apple though. It would probably bee great with sour cream too. I also served them with a side of grilled polenta slices, I feel like the soup would be good with something crunchy to eat along with it. All in all I will definitely be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Hannah
Love this recipe...so unique by adding the apple. I didn't have red lentils so I used green and I added some red chillies to give it an extra kick. It is very comforting and filing. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes