My Reviews (19)

Stuffed Capsicum

A colourful and tasty dish. The anchovies are an important ingredient for flavour, so don't be tempted to leave them out. Any residual sauce can be served over pasta.
Reviews (19)


Comment:
06 May 2012
meganwalker1 said:
Use coucsous
 
25 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: JOHNMONIHAN
I made this recipe for my wife and a couple of our close friends. The recipe is a good one. There are some nice, not too overpowering flavors in this dish. I served it the peppers on a bed of spaghetti squash. Changes I recommend...add italian sausage, add some table white wine (dry is best) when cooking the onions and garlic, add a tablespoon of oregano, and once the peppers are done, cover them with shaved parmesan (from a block of cheese, not that pregrated stuff). Sprinkle chopped parsley as a garnish over the top of the peppers. Oh, and one last thing...slice the peppers lengthwise and make pepper boats. You can fit a lot into the pepper and it's more stable when sitting on a plate. Bon Appetit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Dot
This is a good recipe, but no one in our family likes anchovies! I came across this recipe because we all miss my MIL's stuffed peppers now that she's gone and this was the closest to it I could find. I added some pepperoni and soppresata (dry sausage), which my mother in law taught me to "boil in a little water to get out some of the fat" and then chop into a super small dice. That way, there's some in every bite. I made it once without the "boil" and found that the pepperoni was like little hard nuggests - we prefer that it be boiled a little first - its softer in the finished pepper We get the "salt" flavor from this rather than the anchovies. Also, she always added some freshly grated Parmesan or Romano cheese to the mixture and regular black olives, chopped up, and ALWAYS used the day old Italian bread rather than boxed bread crumbs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: JPOWELL100
This was a big hit in my home. I did add cooked lean ground beef and shredded parmesan cheese to the mixture. I also cut the amount of breadcrumbs in half. Absolutely delicious, I served with a green salad and will definitley make again. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: alyssa78
This was fanastic! I was looking for a stuffed banana pepper recipe and came across this one. I substituted 12 banana peppers for the green peppers and added a can of crushed tomatoes and 1/2 cup of parmesean cheese to the stuffing. Will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Katrina A.
I agree... if you add Italian sausage, Parmesan cheese, and spaghetti sauce (homemade or canned) it really adds some flavor! I used rosemary bread that was fresh, and was still satisfied with the outcome.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Diana S.
My husband and I enjoyed this recipe. I used chopped calamata olives that been marinated in EVOO and spices, in place of the green olives. Next time I think I'll mix in a few raisins and maybe a little lemon zest. I think the contrast of sweet raisins with salty anchovies and tart lemon would be great. Oh, I also cut the peppers in half length-wise as another reviewer suggested. What a great tip!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: LADYC20054
I eliminated the green olives and used sicilian black olives (shriveled ones) and did not use onion. Very tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: TaraR
This was a very nice recipe for stuffed peppers. I did however make changes based on preference. I used the sausage, oregano and basil as others recommended. The other big difference in my recipe is that I decided to use cooked white rice instead of the bread. I know the bread would be more Italian, but we love rice in our household! The rest of the recipe stayed the same and it turned out delicious! One hint for making stuffed peppers that I use to shorten the cooking time, is to take the tops off the peppers and then parboil them for 10 minutes or so. This speeds up the baking time and you can boil the peppers while preparing the stuffing. My cooking time in the oven was about 25 min.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Adam_U
This was a ok at best. It took forever to cook and the end result was not as good as I had expected it would be. I mean it tasted good, but not as good as I would have thought it should be.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes