My Reviews (576)

Spinach and Risoni Salad

A light and easy to make salad that's pleasing to the palate. Great flavours coming from the feta and pine nuts.
Reviews (576)


17 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: Mallinda
This was eaten enthusiastically by the people at a pot luck dinner. Because of time constraints I had to make it the day before. I thought it would allow the flavors to blend, but I wouldn't recommend it since the pasta, cheese and onion all absorbed the dressing and turned brownish from the balsamic vinegar. But it tasted great and the appearance didn't stop anyone from eating it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Kathryn
I LOVE this salad. I add sun dried tomatoes and kalamata olives as well. I find that you don't need an entire 10 oz package of baby spinach (I only use about half of a 6 oz bag).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: BATCAVES
This was delicious and is a new favorite. I added black olives, artichokes, and sun-dried tomatoes. The recipe makes a TON though, so i had enough for several meals. I served this as a side to "Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon" from this site and they went together very well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: ANGCHICK
I used farfalle instead of orzo and since my husband does not care for feta, I substituted with a mixture of provolone and mozzarella cheeses. I also added grated Romano, salt, garlic powder and parsley. I toasted the pine nuts for added flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: Linda T
Oh my this was wonderful. I could've eaten just this for a couple of days and been very happy. I halved the recipe and served it for guests, who demanded the recipe. The only changes I made were using fresh basil instead of dried and black pepper instead of white. I know there is a lower fat/calorie feta cheese that I might try next time. Yes there will be a next time on this one!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: ameliab
Loved it - so good for any occasion. Barely used any Olive Oil - and put the juice of 1 lemon and the balsamic vinegar. Love this also with baby Roma tomatoes, or cherry tomatoes!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Kim
I made this salad for Thanksgiving and added dried cranberries and used half of the oil and vinegar. Absolutely delicious!!! Definately will be making again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: AUBYRD
I've made this several times and its a great recipe that works well if you want to alter it a little for different tastes or what you have handy. I've used asiago cheese instead of the feta, also different vinegars like white balsamic, white wine and rice wine. Also, not a fan of pine nuts, but almonds go great. If you want your spinach wilted, you can put it in the colandar and then drain the orzo ( you can also substitute a variety of pastas) over the spinach to wilt it without extra cooking. Enjoy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Aug 2002
Yum! What a great flavor. I will make this again and again! Even 1/2 the recipe makes a lot, so I'll make 1/4 next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: JF224
I left out the pine nuts (not a big fan), but added some strips of leftover roast chicken I had. It was very filling, fresh-tasting, and delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes