My Reviews (763)

Vegan Potato Curry

Chickpeas, potatoes and peas cooked with aromatic spices in a coconut milk base make this better than any restaurant curry I've tasted.
Reviews (763)


13 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: CalamityJane
This is my new favourite recipe, it was a major hit when I made it for dinner recently. I will definitely be making it again.
 
27 May 2015
Reviewed by: Lorraine1962
Gorgeous, cut down on garam masala, too much for my liking, other than that, We loved it
 
23 Jul 2013
Reviewed by: chittirl
nice recipe but 4 teaspoon garam masala is way too much....its gonna cause stomach ulcer....please use garam masala in small quantity maybe for 4 big potatoes dish, 2tsp gm r more than enough
 
02 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: Chevbrock
A gorgeous, fragrant curry. I can see this would be great using many other vegetables in the pantry, too!
 
08 Jun 2017
Reviewed by: john.m.conneely
This turned out way better than I thought it would - a gorgeous balance of deep flavours - I used coconut cream instead of coconut milk and it was very creamy - Will definitely be making this regularly
 
20 Nov 2016
Reviewed by: HannahPollockVickers
YUM!! I halved the recipe and made enough for about 3, was quite spicy so next time will probably cut down on garam masala. Apart from that, loved it. Served with rice, would be great with some naan too!
 
29 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: RobCottam
Loved this recipe and yes i cut back on the garam masala also. Served with rice and added a dollop of sour cream on top.
 
18 May 2008
Reviewed by: Katy
I made this recipe EXACTLY as stated, and it came out so much better than I imagined it would! I thought it would be cheap and cheerful, and useful as a side to something, but it is absolutely delicious! The combination of spices is completely spot on, giving a very rich and authentic flavour, with a good amount of spicyness, but not enough to hurt! Of course it tastes better the next day, as any curry does. The only things I would change in this recipe when I next make it (As I definitely shall), is that I will increase the amount of potatoes by at least 50%, to six or seven potatoes, and use only an 8oz can of chickpeas. The curry as it is, is more like a chickpea curry with potatoes, but I'd like potatoes to be the main feature. I think this curry would be very good too with spinach in it, instead of the peas, although its great as it is! ps. Im neither vegan nor vegetarian.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: emskwared
I am almost embarrassed to tell everyone what I did to this recipe because of the lack of all of the ingredients... but I had to share because it turned out so well!! It all started with the potatoes I needed to use up... when I came across this yummy sounding recipe. I had no onions in the house, but I did have dried chopped onion, so I rehydrated them... I had no fresh garlic in the house, so I used the minced stuff in the jar (never as good as fresh, imho)... I had no fresh ginger, so I used ginger paste... I had no canned diced toms, but I did have tom paste... I had no coconut milk, but did have coconut milk powder to reconstitute... I was infinitely surprised to have a can of peas, since I really don't care for canned peas at all (where did THOSE come from??). In spite of all of my creative yet irreverent adjustments, this is one of the best curries I have ever tasted!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2008
Reviewed by: Kym Cox Surridge
This was very flavorful and had a great texture. I omitted the chickpeas and added cauliflower, which I steamed over the boiling potatoes. I agree with other reviewers that this could have used more potatoes; it's pretty saucy. I wasn't in the mood for super spicy, so I used 1 tsp cayenne. I also reduced the curry to 1 tbsp, which was just right for us. Excellent over brown rice!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes