My Reviews (305)

Quinoa with Chickpeas and Pine Nuts

This recipe combines the pungent Mediterranean and Indian flavours for a quick and delicious side dish or vegetarian main.
Reviews (305)


15 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: psb
I found this when searching for recipes using chick peas (had leftovers from a batch cooked in crockpot). Sounded interesting so gave it a try. Glad I did! I'll make it again. I did increase the spices quite a bit after tasting finished dish...didn't measure, just "palmed it". Have to admit that the aroma while cooking had me wondering if I'd made a mistake...the combination of spices smelled kinda strange to me, did again when opening leftovers, but I do like the flavor. It's one of those flavors that I found growing on me more with each bite. Increasing the spices considerably didn't drastically change the flavor as much as I thought it would...even though I could feel the beginning of heat in my mouth. Sent leftovers with daughter for school lunch today...waiting to see what she thinks. I used raisins and think that, like others, they add a definite depth to the flavor that's important (and I usually don't care for raisins much). Didn't have any pine nuts so couldn't add those, but will definitely next time...and there will be a next time. Thanks for the recipe!! I've been looking to increase our use of quinoa. UPDATE I changed the rating to a 5. My daughter really likes this for her school lunch. I've made it a few more times and have added pine nuts...they do add another layer of flavor/texture that we like. This is going into our regular rotation making sure to cook for leftovers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: I ♥ allrecipes
5 STARS ALL THE WAY! This was absolutely delish. I am very impressed. We will definitely add this to our regular rotation! I didn't have garbanzo beans, so I used spicy black beans. I doubled the spices and used half to season 3 chicken breasts then grilled them on the Foreman grill. Sliced and served chicken on top. The raisins add a burst of sweetness with the spiciness, and it's so YUM!! What a meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: jesse_todhunter
This was amazing and I would highly recommend it. All the flavors come together very well. I highly recommend including the raisins. I added some cayenne to spice it up a bit, and topped it with parsley (cilantro would be good too). Make a big batch and eat all week.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: jbradford
I realized halfway into the recipe that I didn't have broth, so I used water and it worked just fine. I also didn't have garbanzo beans and used pinto beans instead. I think you could use any mild canned beans in a pinch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Ellen
Delicious! Quinoa (pronounced keen-wa) is a whole grain and one of the most nutritious. This is a great way to serve it. I loved all the textures and flavors - I agree with another reviewer that the raisins should definitely be in it. I don't think you need to add the additional salt - there is enough salt in it from the chicken stock. Definitely will make again. Thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2010
This is now my husband's favorite meal. I've used dried cherries instead of raisins, and they work well too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Naomi
Very good. I made this for a vegan friend of mine (so used water instead of broth). I made the following substitutions and it turned out well: - used Craisins instead of raisins - used pecans instead of pine nuts - didn't have curry powder, so increased the cumin Overall, it was flavorful and yummy. We'll probably make it again. Also: my 11 month old baby liked it too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Desiree
I was looking for a dish that used quinoa, and this satisfies my desire for both high fiber and high protein. This tasty dish relies on the spices added for the great flavor, so it's low in calories. I ended up using pinto beans instead, and it still tasted great. It didn't take me anywhere near 45 minutes either. Great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: ChristineM
This was one of the N*R "runner-ups", so I decided to try it. It was pretty good - the pine nuts and raisins make it, in my opinion - they add extra levels of flavor and texture. I'm not a big curry powder fan, so next time I will switch the quantities of curry powder and cumin, and maybe add some coriander or other spices. Overall a tasty dish! Had this with some steamed spinach for a light but satisfying supper. N*R
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Jenny
I'm sorry it took me so long to make this. I had all the ingredients in my pantry, super easy and a great alternative to rice as a side dish. I'll make this again for sure!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes