My Reviews (168)

Roast Chickpeas with Cumin and Chilli

A great snack - way healthier than chips. They are great on their own but also work well top of a salad.
Reviews (168)


08 Oct 2017
Reviewed by: mayabella
I baked for much longer at a slower temp. I always add more spice and mine were (are) unbelievable! Just keep cooking until they are crunchy... they WILL get there and it is worth the wait!
 
18 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: AngieW
The chickpeas are still not crunchy enough for my taste..I baked them for a total of 50 minutes and added more flavour as per my tweek. I dont know what I expected but I have to say I'm a bit disappointed in this one.
 
Comment:
17 Jun 2010
AngieW said:
Something else. After 40 mins I found the flavour not strong enough, so added a sprinkle of curry powder, a generous sprinkle of table salt and sesame seeds
 
25 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Fit&Healthy Mom
These were nice, but 2 Tbsp of olive oil is way too much, I used only 1/2 Tbsp. I also roasted at 450 degrees for 40 minutes because this way it gets crunchy and not soft in the middle.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I've made these before so I knew what to expect and how to bake them properly. I baked these dry ON FOIL, until the last ten minutes, took them out and dumped them in a bowl and drizzled the EVOO over the hot chickpeas, then sprinkled with the spices and a little nutritional yeast over the top of the chickpeas, which gives it a little parmesan-cheesy kind of flavor which rocked with the spices that this recipe called for. I then baked them the remaining ten minutes. I took another reviewer's advice and baked them at 400* for 40 minutes and that was spot on. Perfectly crispy. I did give them a good shake with the pancake turner every ten minutes, like I do with the oyster cracker snacks, so they would cook evenly. I've completely cut out all processed snack foods and this was perfect for "that time of the month" when you need to have something salty but you don't want to rack up calories. And you know....my kids LOVED these! They almost remind me of Corn Nuts! EDITED: I highly recommend using organic chickpeas if you can. I've used store brand in this recipe and for me, it's just not as good. Also, be sure you drain your chickpeas VERY well. That affects the crispiness quite a bit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Nicole
I make these all the time. I usually toss the chickpeas with just olive oil, salt, and some crushed rosemary. Any seasoning you like will do. For those who didn't like the texture- they are best when they are VERY crunchy (not slightly crunchy) and practically popping off of the baking sheet. They come out like corn nuts.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: CC<3's2bake
Here is an interesting discovery. I have made these twice. The first time, I used canned chickpeas and followed the recipe, including the baking time, and using a plain baking sheet. They were not nice and crunchy like I expected them to be, nor as flavorful. The second time, I used peas I had cooked from dry and stored in the freezer. They went straight from the freezer into the oven, on a foil lined sheet this time, and were perfectly crisp and crunchy, and much spicier.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Rock_lobster
Simple Roasted Chickpea Haiku: "First time I made these, a 1-star burnt, yucky mess. This time, got it right!" I was on a mission to recreate the most sublime salad that I'd ever tasted, made up of blackened salmon, roasted chickpeas, golden raisins, and balsamic vinaigrette. Made this chickpea recipe, exactly as written, and ended up w/ black pebbles and a lingering burnt aroma. Did a little reading up on roasting chickpeas, and I kept the recipe exactly the same, except I "dry roasted" the chickpeas (no oil, no seasoning) at 425 for 20 min. shaking the pan several times in between. Pulled them out and tossed them w/ the oil (only 2 tsp.) and the same ratio of spices, and returned them to the oven for another 15 min. to perfect little crunchy balls of awesome. I haven't tried them since they've come to room temp, but I'm hoping that they'll still be a good, nicely-seasoned snack that retains some of its crunch. Oh, and I had to give this 3 stars b/c in all fairness, it was awful when I followed the recipe as written, but significantly better w/ my baking adjustments.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: MaLizGa
Chickpeas - who knew?!? They're great! I was expecting to have my socks knocked off with spiciness - not so. They're prefectly flavored. I baked mine at 400* for about 40 minutes and they're crisp all the way through. I just wish I had another can of chickpeas on hand!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Katie Nelson Bradshaw
This is a common snack in Ethiopia, just roasted with oil and topped with salt!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes