My Reviews (16)

Pasta with Eggplant, Capsicum and Tomatoes

A simple but tasty pasta that highlights the beautiful vegetables including eggplant, capsicum and tomatoes. Serve with parmesan cheese and a good red wine.
Reviews (16)


04 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Rambunc
I was looking for a way to use our eggplant and other vegetable harvest from the garden and found this recipe. I didn't leave the skin on the eggplant because I didnt' know how that would taste, so I guess that's why my eggplant cooked so quickly. I removed it from the pan early and let the peppers continue to cook. I also added a little red onion to the eggplant mixture and the tomatoes. I was surprised at how delicious this was. My husband and I loved it. The olives and basil really added a nice touch. Whenver I have pasta I always top it off with pecorino romano cheese. I also added a couple of hungarian hot wax peppers which gave it some zip. This meal was so easy and used up all the vegetables my husband picked in the garden yesterday!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Trish
I made this for two,I used one eggplant, kept the garlic, red pepper and basil the same, as they are ingredients we tend to add extra when cooking anyway. I didn't have fresh tomatoes, so I used one can of diced tomatoes. I also sprinkled some parmesan cheese over the eggplant mixture in the pan.Served over ziti,as it was what I had on hand and I lightly sprinkled some grated parmesan cheese over the tomato sauce mixture. It's a good summer recipe for eggplant and not heavy like eggplant dishes with a lot of cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Laura J
Loved it. Made it with one good size eggplant and kept the rest amounts the same. Used canned tomatoes since I was short on tomatoes. Had to use dry herbs as well...so I figure if it is this good with these changes, the fresh ingredients could only be better. Thanks for the great recipe to use my eggplant and red pepper without a lot of cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: khorner
This was very easy to make. The only thing I would change is not using as many red peppers as it over powered the eggplant a bit. I would probably add mushrooms to this too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: isch16
This was kinda like a vege spaghetti. Simple to make, but nothing spectacular.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: William R.
Flavor simply lacked. I ALMOST went with one medium eggplant, but decided that it just didn't look like it would be enough. so i added a second small-medium one, which i believe game me a good proportion with the full pound of pasta. given some of the other reviews, i think that the "seasoning" ingredients needs to be increased. i also used two cans of diced tomatoes instead of fresh, simply becasue it was on hand. it was a solid meal, and i could see the potential for greatness. i also topped it with some fresh Parmesan which was a big help. i also feel that it will most likely make a great cold leftover. DEFINITE for giving a second try.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: mamafox
Delicious and very easy. The cooking time for the eggplant seemed a little long though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Fragolita
OMG. i was great i used can tomatoes. and dried herbs. it was simplemente delicioso!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: mommyluvs2cook
Okay I made a few minor changes. I used whole wheat penne and green olives instead of black..the rest was followed spot on. Nice little pasta side dish for us! My family doesn't even care for eggplant but they ate this and didn't complain at all! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 May 2012
Reviewed by: ming
This is a great recipe for those with extra tomatoes, peppers and especially eggplant. I made a few changes. Cooked eggplant in cast iron skillet along with peppers and garlic. I did add 2 tablespoons of tomato paste to the fresh tomatoes to thicken it up a bit since i didn't have 6 tomatoes and made do with 2 large and 14 cherry tomatoes. I think the eggplant is outstanding and the dish works! I also substituted a tablespoon hot chili oil for one of the 2 tablespoons used in the eggplant browning but that's just to our taste...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes