My Reviews (93)

Eggplant and Goats Cheese Pasta

Delicious and hearty; pasta, eggplant, mushrooms and goat cheese all mixed together and served hot to make a simple but delicious meal. For a vegetarian version change out the chicken stock.
Reviews (93)


16 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: CRAZY4SUSHI
As I made the sauce I kept thinking "what is the big deal about this?" I wasn't impressed at all. So I threw in alot more seasoning (Italian spices, and basil). Once the goat cheese hit the rigatoni and it started to melt into the sauce it became a much better recipe. The goat cheese make it worth it the effort. This recipe makes alot and is really rich.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Linda T
Fabulous! Minor alterations: Served this with whole wheat pasta, heavier on the garlic and red pepper, used vegetable stock and leftover roasted eggplant. I also left out the olives.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: CreativeCook
I doubled the amount of mushrooms to 16 ounces, added in several handfuls of chopped, fresh spinach, reduced the oil by half and added some red wine and red pepper flakes for heat. The tomatoes I used had Italian spices added already. Instead of goat cheese, I used Boursin gourney cheese with herbs, which is what I had on hand. When it melted along with the sauce, it tasted very much like La Madeleine's tomato basil soup, with chunky veggies in it, of course. I served it over whole grain rotini pasta. Even my husband liked it a lot, even though there wasn't any meat in it. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Fran
Love it! It was like eggplant parmesan disassembled. I used half a can of diced tomatoes, half a can of puréed, red wine instead of the broth and Greek feta instead of the plain goat cheese, and added some dried oregano and basil. With a baguette and a glass of wine, it made a lovely meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Mandira
Excellent Recipe! My family enjoyed it a lot. I added italian seasoning, basil leaves and oregano for more flavor. It tasted very good. I will surely make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: BKBARONS
Fabulous. I cooked for just two people, so i was able to save the rest of the sauce in the freezer for another time. I think any olives would do -- the kalamata olives we used had the pits, so you had to be careful of that when eating. Also, the olives are very strong so stick with the quantity suggested and don't go overboard. Great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: Alexandra
This recipe was quick, easy and different. I replaced the eggplant with zucchini and it had a great flavor. It was a nice change from the standard tomato and pasta dishes. I will definately make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: shatter
This was a tasty recipe, I used feta instead of the goats cheese and added some diced zucchini with the eggplant to increase the vegetable intake!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: BABSKITCHEN
I was looking for a way to use up some goat cheese and came across this recipe. We liked it a lot but it definitely has a zing to it between the goat cheese and the kalamata olives. I think next time I may cut back a little on the goat cheese so there is a stronger tomato taste. I did not add the salt because there is plenty in the canned tomato, chicken broth, and goat cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Clint Porter
Do NOT substitiute the goat cheese, it makes the dish amazing. My family loved this meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes