My Reviews (64)

Stir Fry Pork and Apple

Similar in taste to other sweet and sour pork Asian dishes this recipe uses an apple sauce (apple puree) for its sweetness.
Reviews (64)


13 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Arrowette
I did a pared down, lighter-on-the-calories version of this and it was spectacular. I used 1 tbsp of olive oil supplemented with olive oil cooking spray rather than the peanut and sesame oils. I left out the cornstarch and just cooked the pork in the olive oil. I didn't have broccoli, so I used a green pepper, a red pepper, and an onion, all sliced. Oh, and I had 1.5 pounds of pork tenderloin, so I used it all. I left the sauce unchanged (except used splenda brown sugar blend instead of brown sugar); it is delicious as written. My husband loved it even though he doesn't normally like sweet foods, and our three male guests raved about it. I served it with a basic fried rice (3 cups cooked white rice, 1 egg, 3 tablespoons each of soy sauce and rice vinegar, all fried up together with olive oil).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Carol Hammond
OH MY GOSH! This sauce is to die for! I used pork, but you could use beef or chicken or shrimp just as well. Veggie selection is unlimited too! I used green, red and yellow bell pepper, a handful of frozen green peas, yellow onion, chopped celery, drained water chestnuts and bean sprouts. You could also use mushrooms, baby corn, carrots, and of course, broccoli (as the recipe calls for). The sauce is the key! Served over fried rice – YUMMMM! Thank you, Jenny G.!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Camille Penner Morden
I made this as written and it was really yummy. Will definitely make again. Next time I will add some more veggies though. I was given advice on the Recipe Exchange to use a cheese grater to "chop" the ginger after you peel it and it worked great. Thank you for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 May 2008
Reviewed by: gapch1026
Different and delicious. Because other reviewers mentioned that this recipe was quite sweet, I used a little less applesauce and added about a tablespoon of rice vinegar. Zucchini, red onion, and mushrooms were the veggies I used and I served the stir fry over ramen noodles (cooked without the flavoring packet). The flavor combination of the sauce tasted like spicy Oriental apple butter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: SunnyByrd
The flavors of this dish are great, but it's pretty heavy on the soy sauce. I halved it and still needed to add a little water at the end to mellow it out (almost took the rating down to a 3, but I think this recipe idea is worth keeping, so I'm being generous). The hoisin and ginger are awesome, plus I added black pepper and some chili flakes. I used a raw stir-fry mix of broccoli, carrots and snow peas. Yum! Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Megan
The sauce was a very good recipe. After tasting it I decided to add a little honey (I have a sweet tooth) and some chopped garlic). I used chicken and a mix of broccoli, carrots, water chestnuts, green beans, bell pepper, and onion for my veggies. A very good and healthy meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Laurie P.
Pretty tasty, but VERY sweet. Next time I'll make it without the applesauce and/or cut back on the sugars.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Linda T
This was quite tasty. I had some snow peas I wanted to use up so I subbed those for the broccoli and also added bit of cabbage. I used brown sugar splenda in the sauce and left out the apple sauce. I added a whole diced apple to the dish instead. It wasn't too sweet this way at all. I think I may even add moer apple next time as the mixture of apple and pork was very good. I served this over shirataki noodles
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: lemon jar
Great recipe for the the whole family. I added a chopped onion, half a green bell pepper, sliced, 1 can each of bamboo shoots and water chestnuts, drained. I doubled the ingrediants for the sauce to compensate for the extra veggies. My husband and kids raved throughout dinner. They were all shocked to find out that it had applesauce in the recipe. Will fix again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: WileyP
An excellent pork stir-fry - thanks for the recipe, Jenny G! Neither the ginger nor the hoisin is overly strong, and the applesauce gives the sauce just the right touch of sweetness. Very easy to prepare (even for a kitchen "mechanic" like me!) and everyone loved it. I can see where this would lend itself to all sorts of additions to help make it a real one-dish meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes