My Reviews (18)

Walnut and Apple Cake

This is a rich apple cake served with a warm topping. Delicious! This recipe calls for walnuts but pecans are just as delicious!
Reviews (18)


08 Jun 2013
Reviewed by: SvetlanaMatovic
this is the recipe i love great cake slice
 
10 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: lcoen1
This cake is the best apple cake I have ever had. If it came out dry and crumbly I think you might want to try again, you may have made a mistake somewhere. I added a Tsp of Vanilla, 2 Tsp's of cinnamon, and a 1/4 Tsp of nutmeg. After the cake came out of the oven I poked holes in it using a toothpick and then poured a mixture of brown sugar and butter over it. I didn't do the topping in the recipe but I imagine it would be equally as good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: ROBY
when I look for recipes I usually go for the ones that have the highest ratings. I wanted to give this a try and was glad I did. I tasted it before the sauce & it tasted great. Even better with the sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: ABD297
Excellent recipe! Big hit at work. Used sugar in the raw and pecans.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: ChefNik213
This cake is absolutely wonderful. I made this cake a few days ago and unfortunately I dropped it on the floor as I was taking it out of the oven, so I was not able to make the topping or even taste the cake(even though my kids ate the parts that was still in the pan and raved over it.) But I made it again tonight following some of the additions from previous reviews. I followed the review that suggested using heavy cream and vanilla in the topping, which was fantastic. However I also mixed my apple pieces with 1/2 cup of brown sugar and a teaspoon of cinnamon then let them sit while I prepared the cake mix. I only added 1/2 cup of coconut because I was concerned that the cake would come out dry and crumbly as stated by another review...oh and I substituted pecans for the walnuts and added a teaspoon of vanilla extract to my batter. At any rate I was more than thoroughly pleased with the results. The cake is very rich and moist, and because I love warm cake I poured the topping on while it was warm and tasted a piece..FANTABULOUS! The only thing I would say otherwise is that maybe my apples were too big,the recipe calls for two apples and I felt that maybe I could have used one, but my fiancee' who loves apples disagrees.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: KVALS414
This cake is absolutely delish! So moist, it's unbelievable. I didn't have any vegetable oil so I used olive oil instead, I know it sounds wierd, but I think the olive oil added to the moistness of the cake and made it that much better. I'll have to try it next time with veg. oil. Everyone loved it, I'll definitely make this one again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: joy
Awesome, moist cake. I used heavy cream instead of milk and a little vanilla in the sauce. Very rich and yummy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: adnama692003
This was a hit at a family gathering! And I don't cook! It made me look like I was hiding my secret cooking skills from my husband! That was the only bad thing about this recipe!! And I kinda curddled the sauce so my quick fix was to sprinkle brown sugar on top! They didn't even know the difference! Thanks for submitting!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: JUSTPEECHEEE
This cake was not very good-it came out DRY and VERY crumbly. I would not make it again
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: BPUTGEGO
Maybe I did something wrong but the cake was not moist at all and we did not care for the taste either.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes