My Reviews (193)

Chicken and Creamy Pesto Pasta

A delicious meal; the crunch of pine nuts and the tang of sun-dried tomatoes combine with chicken and pasta in a heavenly pesto cream sauce. Be sure to taste and salt before serving because depending on what kind of chicken stock you use, the dish may require no salt at all or may be extremely under-salted.
Reviews (193)


07 May 2013
Reviewed by: Elley_91
So i'll be totally honest! I was mainly looking for some ideas for a pasta dish to create. I used all these ingredients for a sauce and it was just LOVELY. I never use measurements so i'm sure it may taste a little different but such a great mix of ingredients! my brother was unhappy that there was none left after his second. haha!
 
17 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: MoniG
My husband has gone back for 3rds! I halved the wine in the marinade and added extra chicken stock, and used chicken stock instead of wine at step 4.
 
27 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: PRINCESS20NY
Even though this was a lot of work I give it a 5 because it was awesome. You can taste the different flavors separately, and thogether they blend perfectly. I followed this recipe to a T and it came out super. I didn't have any issues with the sauce not thickening, but if you're worried about it, I suggest a) either not adding all of the cream at the end which I suspect wouldn't change the flavor that much, or b) before adding the cream mix into it 1 or 2 TBSP flour, mix it up and then pour it in and cook for a few minutes. Loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: CHEF1231
The title says it all - Phenomenal! For a healthy alternative, I used 2% milk instead of heavy cream and the sauce still turned out great. I definitely recommend this dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Chuck Sampson
I thought this was A delicious recipe! A few reviewers had said they had a hard time getting the liquid to thicken up, but I had no problem. As with most cream pastas, the thickening takes place when you remove it from the heat and set it aside for 5 minutes or so. I served this meal with caeser salad and garlic bread. I will be making this again for sure. I loved making that fresh pesto, and this dish will definetly need salt. I added three teaspoons, and then put the salt on the table for everyone else to add to it if they wanted to. Even after 3 teaspoons, it needed more. The flavor comes alive once you put the salt in, it will seem bland without it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: mls
This is a great recipe. I made a couple of changes to reduce the fat content and to increase the amount of sauce. I substituted 15 oz of chicken stock for the heavy cream and then thickened the sauce with half and half and grated Romano cheese.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: joy-of-jesus-smileymom
Really, really good. It makes a ton--at least 6 GIANT servings. I followed the recipe, except I used a heaping teaspoon of chicken base paste (like bouillon, from Sam's) instead of broth or water. I then added sauteed mushrooms at the end (after tasting), and I really loved the addition. I don't know how thick the sauce is supposed to be, but it was a bit thin, easily swiped up with crusty bread. I'd bet slightly underdoing the pasta, and then cooking it a while in the sauce, would thicken it by soaking into the pasta. Last but not least, I had to use a big pot, NOT a skillet. I'm surprised no one else commented on this. Anyway, YUM!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Lauri
This was awesome. I made it like the recipe said but accidentally doubled the sun-dried tomatoes. I think I'll do that on purpose next time. In addition, I'll probably add a few more pine nuts at the end because I like the flavor and the crunch. Like others noted, it says it will feed 6 but the truth is it will feed them not only dinner but lunch as well! The one thing that surprised me was that I was using a super larger skillet and by the time I got to the last step there wasn't enough room. I had to dump it all in the large pot I had used to cook the pasta. So keep that in mind if you make the 6-serving recipe. The leftovers were great for lunch the next several days. I'm recommending this recipe to all the cooks I know.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: kcobbva
I signed up for ALL Recipies today just to rate this recipie. Made it after getting a cuisinart Food Processor for Christmas. Man it was absolutley fantastic. I sliced the chicken into small pieces and only used 4 breasts after seeing the amount of chicken I had piled up. I followed the rest to the letter. I would suggest it makes about 12 servings (possibly more). The flavor was fantastic and my wife was very impressed. This WILL be a recipie I will use when we have special guests come over for dinner! Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: tbackun
This was great! It was fairly simple to make but came out wonderful. Worked really well with a caeser salad and crusty bread to soak up the sauce. I definately recommend.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes