My Reviews (169)

Penang Coconut Chicken Curry

This is a spicy coconut based chicken curry. Penang refers to the island of Penang in Northern Malaysia bordering Southern Thailand.
Reviews (169)


31 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: ChocolateTruffle
YUM! only used 400g tin of coconut milk, it was plenty. Also added snow peas, red capsicum and some finely sliced carrots. Delicious.
 
24 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Haggi
I am not confident with curries so followed this recipe strictly. it was so easy and quick to make, and my grandson; who orders Chicken Penang whenever they dine at asian restaurants; loved it and had numerous helpings. I will definately make it again.
 
23 Jan 2017
Reviewed by: cookie1945
Made the penang curry it was as gd as any Thai Restaurant could make, thanks for the recipe will make again I made the curry as yr recipe
 
22 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: duckman
At the suggestion of the old dude at the local Asian market, I first heated up the oil and added a 4 oz can of panang curry paste with 2 decent-sized crushed garlic cloves, then added sliced chicken and cooked very slowly on low heat until nearly done. I then added 1 TBS of fish sauce, torn/bruised lime leaves (and removed when serving), 1 TBS of palm sugar, and 2 cans of coconut milk and simmered until the sauce thickened slightly, about 10-15 mins. Turned out wonderful and fragrant, and the smell alone had my neighbors asking what I was making, drooling over my front door.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Mowser
I had to substitute a lot of ingredients (brown sugar for the palm sugar; grated lime zest, dash of lime juice, and a bay leaf for the kaffir lime leaves; "regular" basil for the Thai basil leaves), but this dish was still amazingly good. The sauce was so good I kept the leftovers and I plan to make a batch of rice tomorrow just so that the sauce does not go to waste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: lilacwine808
This recipe is very authentic! All the ingredients contribute to its unique taste. Don't skimp...go to your local Asian market and get the ingredients. Also very very easy to make. Reminded me of my favourite Thai restaurant I always ate at in Hawaii! Will be making this again and again! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: klm11nexus
I too had to figure out a way to make my favorite Thai dish - and tweaked it a bit by substituting a couple (hard to find) ingredients and adding a couple that make it simply killer (peanut butter). And just as an fyi... using lime juice instead of lime leaves does not work as a substitution. A kaffir lime leaf tastes and is used more like our bay leaf, not a lime. Just to simplify, here is my ingredient list: Panang Curry paste / Lite coconut milk / Crunchy Peanut butter / (to make a substitute for Kaffir lime leaves, use 1/3 of each: lime zest, fresh thyme and a bay leaf. Use lemon thyme if available.) / Brown Sugar / Hoisin Sauce / Fresh basil chiffonade / Red Pepper / Green Pepper / chicken breast / Lime juice / Jasmine rice. The crunchy peanut butter adds another Thai dimension that just "makes" this dish, IMO. (not sure if it changes the name of the dish.. but who cares!?!) The kaffir lime leaf substitution took some research and is a wonderful replacement trick. This dish is ridiculously easy to make, and so impressive! Not to mention sooooo good. Thanks for posting this!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Sloany
Absolutely delicious! We didn't have the kaffir lime leaves, so zexted a lime. We also didn't have the palm sugar, so I used agave nectar. And I used regular basil leaves instead of Thai basil. It was as good as I've had in any restaurant. We LOVED it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: EveryDayGourmet
This is awesome! Just like the restaurants! I added a bunch of slightly grilled bell peppers to the curry and it was a full meal!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: foodie222
this recipe is PERFECT. we didn't put in the fish sauce, yet it still tasted exactly like the one at my favorite thai restaurant! However, we added some bell peppers for a little extra crunch
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes