My Reviews (19)

Eggplant with Saffron Mayonnaise

This mouth watering eggplant dish can be served as an entree or as a side dish. Fried Eggplant is accompanied by a garlicky saffron mayonnaise.
Reviews (19)


30 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Pamela Simpson Ghaly
Excellent. I didn't make the saffron mayonnaise, but the eggplant was fried perfectly!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Michael Dinsmore
I had 1 small eggplant and 6 of the long skinny ones and tried out this recipe. I just filled the bottom of the pan with about 1/4" of oil for the frying. Turned out good. Husband doesn't normally like eggplant, but he liked the recipe, but you know everything is better fired, right?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: keykeyjoy
I love pan fried eggplants to begin with. But this sauce is just heaven like. The key is suffron. It made a HUGE difference. I absolutely will make this again and share it with my family and friends.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: mauigirl
This was a delicious and impressive appetizer. That being said, I will probably grill or bake the eggplant without breading next time to cut down on the fat. This disappeared quickly and everyone was looking for more. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Gishala
I made these last night as a side dish and my hubby and I really liked it. I followed the recipe exactly but did find, however, that both the eggplant and the mayo needed more seasoning/zing (this could just be my personal preference), so next time I will adjust my seasonings to suit my tastes. I will also experiment with baking/broiling instead of frying, and/or using plain yogurt, to cut down on the fat content. Will definitely be making these again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: roxntab1
This recipe is hands down amazing! I was nervous about frying the eggplant but it came out beautifully and delicious! The saffron mayo makes this dish. I will continue to make this appetizer again and again! Thank you so much for this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: mommymeggy
I followed the recipe exactly, but decided for time's sake not to roll up the eggplant strips after frying. I just served them as wedges with the saffron mayo. When slicing my eggplant, I first skinned two sides with my knife, so the slices I cut first from each of those ends would not be all skin on one side. One other tip: once oil is hot, fry at medium temperature. The eggplant in the olive oil seems to burn easily. 5 stars b/c my husband loved these and said the texture and breading were spot on (I however, don't care for eggplant in any capacity!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: joannesimcoe@msn.com
This is an excellent recipe! Don't skip the saffron mayonnaise! It adds just the right touch to the eggplant. I think this dish is best eaten immediately - piping hot!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Kristy W.
Super easy! The cayenne pepper gave the eggplant a tasty zing! The saffron mayonnaise was a hit. It was fun because this was the first I used saffron in a recipe. My family went nuts trying to guess the secret ingredient for the dip.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Sistuhmoon
Made this dish last night--it is amazing! I served eggplant as strips and the saffron mayonnaise is spectacular. Included some diced red pepper for color and extra zing. Serve piping hot and they will surely be quickly devoured. Many Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes