My Reviews (262)

Creamy Mushroom Risotto

Delicious mushroom risotto made with vegetable stock, cream and a variety of fresh vegetables. Serve as a side dish or filling main course.
Reviews (262)


24 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: JEZZYKOBE
Excellent rice dish. Must mention that you must use Arborio rice in order to achieve maximum creaminess! I substituted chicken instead of vegetable broth and omitted the celery. My friends raved all the same.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: LIBBOHARPER
I made this for a dinner party, and it makes way more than four servings! All of it was eaten, though, and everyone thought I was magic or something. I did used skim milk and fat free half and half instead of whole milk and heavy cream, and it was plenty rich and creamy. Definitely worth the effort if you want to impress a date or a dinner party!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: FREDDY_K
A good recipe overall. Use half the cream. The 5 cups of broth are more of a maximum amount you will need - use common sense and stop adding broth when the rice is cooked. I used chicken broth instead and added chicken.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: gizzysmom
this is not rissotto. Is is a nice mushroom rice but real rissoto does not contain milk. The creaminess comes from the starch in the rice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: KYMBERAND
absolutely delicious - I didn't have cream so I didn't bother, but it didn't need it, still was really creamy. took forever to cook but was worth it. I added dried rosemary and fresh minced garlic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2000
Reviewed by: GibsonsGirl
What a delicious tasting risotto!! I substituted minced garlic, dried parsley and used skim milk. Made no difference to the taste. Directions incomplete. Did not tell you how or when to add the chicken broth. However, as I had made risotto before I knew to add it, one cup at a time. Would highly recommend this dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: ADNANRONI
really good recipe!! it was my first ever risotto & it turned out to be pretty tasty!! make these minor adjustments to make it perfect : 1. completely skip cream. it makes the risotto too heavy. 2. you dont have to add all 5 cups of broth. use common sense; when the rice tastes right, you should stop adding broth.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: VEARG
I served this risotto as a side dish, with london broil and caesar salad, for my husband's birthday dinner. Everyone loved it. My mother-in-law helped me make the risotto and it came out great. We increased the recipe to serve six people. We used a variety of exotic and dried mushrooms including black trumpet mushrooms. We soaked the dried mushrooms in warm water for 30 minutes. We saved this mushroom water and included it with the broth. We used chicken broth instead of vegetable stock and we used Arborio rice (a must for risotto). To keep things moving quickly we warmed the broth in a large pot along side the risotto on the stove. We had a little extra broth left over (probably because we added the additional water from the mushrooms). It took about 30-40 minutes for the rice to absorb all the stock. Great recipe. We will make it again soon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: JENALLEN77
Wow, this was delicious!! Next time, I'm going to leave out the celery as it gave it a weird, and unnecessary flavor. Everything else was superb! Will make again for sure!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Nicole bakes!
This is a very good risotto. I had some mushrooms that I needed to get rid of, so I used 2 full cups of mushrooms instead of 1.5 and it didn't seem like too much at all. I used only one medium yellow onion, left out the celery because I didn't have any, used nonfat milk instead of whole, and only used 2 cups of the vegetable stock (5 seemed like way too many and 2 plus the milk & cream cooked the arborio rice just fine). My husband ate about 90% of this recipe in one sitting for dinner. I guess he liked it!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes