My Reviews (204)

Beef and Barley Soup

A great beef barley soup. Thickens with just the barley. Tastes best in the slow cooker. Serve topped with parmesan cheese and with a salad.
Reviews (204)


13 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: pawprints
This recipe is YUMMY!!!! I made it on a Friday, but then my husband walked in with a pizza for supper. So we had the pizza instead. (I did sample the soup and it was good but a little thin and needed some additional spices. I added some thyme and garlic powder - much better.) Anyways, I put the soup away to eat the next day. On Saturday when I took it out, it was way thicker and was REALLY GOOD. Everybody loved it. There was one serving left over which I had for breakfast on Sunday, and I must say that Sunday was the best day for it yet. The tate and texture were outstanding. One thing I might do differently next time would be to use round steak cubes rather than chuck so the meat would be more tender. This was no fault of the recipe, I just like softer beef in my soups. I will definitely be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Christine Grace
Just wonderful! I did add a bit of red wine,fresh thyme, bay leaf, minced garlic, and carrots to the beef broth. I also browned the beef before I put everything into the crockpot. Thank You!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: Jeff McCune
Great Thick soup that was easy to prepare. Various vegies can be added to taste(carrots,celery,etc) and additional broth or reduced barley for a thinner soup. Garlic and thyme are great additions.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: TZINNO
This recipe is so incredibly easy - my family loved it. It's very healthy, and that's a big plus. I added carrots and celery at the beginning, and also sliced fresh mushrooms the last hour. Next time, I will add more barley, maybe even double it. The taste was rather bland, so I too will add garlic, or Italian seasonings, or maybe a bay leaf or two. Parmesan cheese really improved the taste, even without the other seasonings. Definitely a recipe that I'm going to make many more times.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: PUNXSYPATTY
I cooked my barley according to package directions, rinsed with water and added it to the soup an hour before serving. Cooking and rinsing takes the starch out and it won't over thicken soup.Added a chopped carrot and mushrooms and total 8 cups water. Would make again quick and easy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: NEONDEE
Great recipe! I love the way it thickens up and the beef is so tender. I did add celery, carrots, onions, and garlic. Also added a bit of red wine. Very good and filling.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Elizabeth Tuten
I was looking for a good beef and barley recipe and this just didn't suit me. The barley soaked up all the flavor from the tomatoes, I don't care for tomatoes but put them in anyway. It really didn't have any other flavor to me at all, the barley didn't soak up the beef flavor. Going to omit the tomatoes next time and add in some spices instead.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: DINCINCY
This is just what I was looking for. A beef barley soup that is self-thickening and has a wonderful hearty taste that kids and adults love. All you need is a salad and crusty french bread. Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: ANGELABROOKS
Delicious! I added extra onion, and stirred in some fresh spinach right before serving to increase the vegetables, and it was great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: SHOOSH
This was amazingly easy to make, and a great recipe. I added a couple cloves of garlic and some fresh time to give it a little extra kick. I am new to slow-ccoker cooking, and this really opened my eyes as to how easy it can make your meals.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes