My Reviews (41)

Mango Cinnamon Bars

Delicious! A mango puree on top of shortbread. Try this recipe with strawberries and rhubarb instead of mango.
Reviews (41)


02 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: NYPD K9 COP
easy to make but because of the nutmeg and cinnamon used on the mangoes, it tastes more like apple bars. I think next time I would omit the 2 ingredients mentioned.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: LOLLI-POLLI
My husband absolutly loved them! However I cut out the Nutmeg, and used Spelt flour instead of white flour-eek! ANd maple syrup instead of sugar. They were delicious and a little healthier and much tastier than origonal recipie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: lizzibear
My husband thought it tasted like apple cobbler.. but we both LOVED it! I could taste the mango in the thicker slices and they went so well with the cinnamon and nutmeg spices. I'm really happy with this recipe and how it turned out that I'm emailing this link to all of my friends. The only thing I changed was the cook time. I had to pull it out after 50mins to avoid burned edges and covered the edges with foil half way through as I saw the edges darkening quickly. I baked it in a glass dish so I dont know if that had something to do with it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Betty Crocker
This is very much like a mango cobbler except softer crust. I like it ok, but I omitted the cinnamon and nutmeg since most reviewers said it made it taste like apple cobbler. This is very easy to cut into bars, and I used 3 different kinds of mangoes. The sweeter,riper ones came out muuuuuch better than the more tart one. If you have tart mangoes, you can add honey instead of white sugar. Again, it was ok tasting, and I'm glad I tried it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: Blancheskid
Wow! Very rich, wonderful taste. Gave some to my neighbor and she immediately wanted the recipe, as did her daughter. My only change was to substitute whole wheat flour for one of the three cups of all purpose, and I used cardamom instead of cinnamon. Slicing fresh mango is a messy affair (I used 3 large ones), so next time I may use canned mango (find it at an asian food mkt. or in the ethnic aisle at the store).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: lisha
Though I am a health-conscious eater, this is an amazing recipe. The shortbread bars are just so delicious and scrumptious. The 60 minute baking time is perfect for that slight golden brown crisp. However, I used only 3.5 cups of mango (they were a little stringy but turned out great), only 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, and no nutmeg (I felt it was unnecessary because the cinnamon already spices the mango up). The most difficult part was slicing the mangoes. It took me about 1 hour to slice 4 medium-large mangoes, and it was a really big mess. I sliced them pretty thin, about 2-3 inches long and 0.5 inch wide. I was not familiar with baking shortbreads, so while I mixed the flour, butter, and sugar together I thought the mixture was too dry and began to panic.. but turns out it was supposed to be crumbly and crispy. Make sure you firmly press the flour mixture on the pan, and then evenly spread the mango mixture, then just use your hands and make the flour mixture into crumbs and sprinkle it on top of the mango. Press down lightly. Next time, I will try to substitute the butter for something else, possibly half olive oil and half butter. Also, because this shortbread reminds me of pie, on Thanksgiving or Christmas I will try substituting the mango for pumpkin and bake it in a round dish, see how that turns out I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe with us!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: BakingBot
Very yummy, but the flavor of the mangoes is almost lost. The only real indication is that they were the tiniest bit more tangy than apples. Next time, I'll save money and substitute apples for the mangoes. The shortbread is delicious! Be careful about reserving part of the crumb mixture and not mixing it all in with the mangoes. I halved the recipe w/o problems, but make sure to shorten the cooking time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Ashley Hurst
I omitted the cinnamon and nutmeg and drizzled the top with honey instead. I also made a side crust and made the dish more of a shortbread tart than bars. Make sure to spread the shortbread out somewhat thinner than you would imagine correct, as it can easily get thick after baking. The flavor was good. The riper the mango the better. Would be great warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: KELSEYANDTYLERSMOMMY
The mango is very mild in this recipe. I think that is the nature of Mango when you cook it. The shortbread is moist as opposed to the dry shortbread. I had never had moist shortbread before. this was good but not delicious. However, my mother-in-law loved it because she loves shortbread. I had a hard time getting the shortbread mixture on top of the mango. can't really spread it. I just dropped it on and spread it as best I could.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: MUNCHIES4ME
Absolutely the tastiest things I've ever had that didn't come out of a bakery or a cafe! :9 I loved them, my boyfriend loved them, and so did our friends! Especially good with vanilla ice cream. =D
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes