My Reviews (22)

Pancakes with Chocolate Chips

Start the weekend off right with chocolate chip pancakes! These are great served with real maple syrup or strawberries.
Reviews (22)


03 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I soured my milk with a little lemon juice and I used regular granulated sugar because that was all I had. I also don't keep margerine in my house, so I used melted butter. I didn't fold the chocolate chips into the batter, I sprinkled them on top of each portion of pancake batter after I ladled it on the griddle. My kids (and I'll tell you, so did my husband!) loved these pancakes. They didn't need much embelishment, I just added a little butter and honey over the top. HUGE hit. Next time, I'd like to try these with a little ground cinnamon and nutmeg and use Hershey's cinnamon chips. I'll cut back on the baking powder next time as well. NOTE: If I was making them for a breakfast where I was eating, I'd make them even lighter by using applesauce in place of half or even most of the butter and eggs and I'd use two egg whites in place of one of the eggs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Michelle Peterson
Very good pancakes with a few changes. 2 teaspoons of baking powder is plenty, I also added 1 teaspoon vanilla. I used butter & real sugar but just 2 Tablespoon sugar - probably doesn't need it. Next time I'll substitute applesauce for butter. Great texture and flavor. My kids loved them too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Bobbi123
Very good! I used 2 tablespoons of applesauce in place of half the margerine. I also used a little less baking powder (probably 4 teaspoons or so) as other reviewers said they could taste it. Served with banana maple syrup from this site and it was a great breakfast treat. These did not taste "light" at all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Rock_lobster
Lighter CC Pancake Haiku: "Less baking powder! Otherwise these were yummy. Nom, nom, nom pancake." I liked these pancakes, but not quite as much as "Pancakes I", which I think I'd tweak with the "lighter" ingredients of these instead. I used all WW flour, and split the marg. w/ 2 TB applesauce. There's something so, as Homer Simpson would say, "groin-grabbingly transcendent" about melty chocolate chip explosions in the center of a pancake, and these were good, but I think the author of the recipe perhaps meant 2 TSP of b. powder not TB?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Chef Omelet
I never thought of there being healthy yet tasty pancakes. I give 5 stars for it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Ajoy
I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 because the baking powder was a bit much, but my husband can't taste it and he liked it. The only other change I'd make is to add a tsp of vanilla.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Holiday Baker
I thought these were pretty good. I changed the servings to 6 with the calculate button and got 5 pancakes. I wanted to try this recipe, to test some white whole wheat flour I bought. I didn't have wheat germ, so I subbed it with an equal amount of quick oats to keep the balance of wet to dry ingredients. For the milk, I used 2%, and for the demera sugar I used regular. It wasn't much anyway. I realized I had only a little over half the amount of chocolate chips suggested and it worked fine. I did use the mini type though. The only downside, is I don't normally cook with pan spray and found it burns quickly, even on medium. So, I did have to rinse the pan after every pancake or 2. Either way, it made a good and filling breakfast. ty
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Rose
My hubby and I both thought these were very good, and liked that they are a bit healthier than other pancake recipes. I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 3/4 of a cup all-purpose flour. I also used 1/4 cup applesauce in place of the margarine, and used brown sugar instead of demerara, as I didn't have any. Delicious, a nice light dinner (I'm a BIG fan of breakfast food for supper).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: Nida Ghazanfar
I was excited to try this recipe since I'm always on the lookout for healthier alternatives and I can say this with confidence that my expectations were met to the fullest. They were light and fluffy with the perfect texture. I'm not sure if they'd taste this good without the chocolate chips though. All in all this recipe is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: nnorrell
replaced butter with applesauce kids loved them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes