My Reviews (5,736)

Easy Banana Bread

This is the moistest banana bread that I have ever tasted. This recipe is also very easy to make! Enjoy.
Reviews (5736)


24 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: lynnief
best recipe
 
19 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: leroy
Great loaf very easy
 
26 Apr 2015
Reviewed by: letitiatata
best banana bread ever made !!! I added 3 bananas and comes out great too!!
 
28 Feb 2018
Reviewed by: Chrissy2462
I've made this recipe many times, it's easy and so moist. So yum and the best recipe I've tried.
 
04 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: Williah
I made this & used as cupcakes & was delicious. Just had to keep an eye on cooking time which was half the time of recipe.
 
12 Feb 2015
Reviewed by: maursy
Great recipe enjoyed this will definitely make again
 
14 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: naples34102
With minor variations this is the recipe I've been making for 40 years. It originally came from a home ec teacher and it is beyond awesome. The differences are, first, that I cream the softened butter with the sugar (not melted). I add 1 tsp. lemon juice with the vanilla, and use 1 tsp. each of baking soda and baking powder, and 1-3/4 c. flour. Finally, regardless of how many bananas are used it should equal 1 cup. You will never find a better banana bread, and over the course of 40 years, I've never heard differently. Edited 8/17/09: My original 4/14/08 review should have indicated that I mash the bananas, not slice them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: MLEDOE
As other reviewers mentioned, it was very moist and the flavor was good. My only issue was the sight & feel of the bananas in the bread. Slicing them up, instead of mashing or pureeing them, causes them to be quite mushy and purple. I felt like I was biting into a bruise each time I ate a slice. I ended up digging them out before eating in order to salvage the bread. Sorry, but I think I'll stick to mashing or pureeing...but I'll use the rest of this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: BP133
This is Martha Stewart's recipe... only Martha's says to use room temp. butter.. and suggests using a mixer for the butter and sugar to make it light and fluffy before adding flour and other ingredients, and a full cup of mashed bananas instead of chopped up like Janet says.. more bananas and mashing them is what many of you said you did to tweak this recipe, and it is better that way. It is a great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: TranceAddict
This is quite simply the best banana bread I've ever had. I followed the recipe as stated, with a few additions, to enhance the overall flavor of the bread. I added 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/8 tsp ground cloves to the batter and 1/2- 3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips in addition to the walnuts. Almost all the reviewers agree that the bananas should be mashed, so I mashed them. This distributed the banana flavor evenly throughout the dough. I also advise against using a mixer for the batter. This would whip too much air into the cake and take away from its dense quality. I baked the bread at 325 and it was perfectly done in an hour and 15 minutes. It cuts easily, thinly and has a great crust. Thank you for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes