My Reviews (76)

Pineapple and Banana Cake

This cake is also known as Jamaica Cake. The cake is made right in the pan; no extra dishes to mess up and very good.
Reviews (76)


25 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: JOLYNN BOTTRELL
My whole family loves this cake, they even request it for birthdays etc.! I top the cake with coconut before baking and add a tsp. of cinnamon to the batter for extra flavor. This is my favorite cake to make and eat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Lei
I made a few changes, I used applesauce in place of oil and used half brown sugar and half white sugar as previously suggested. I am not sure if the changes changed the texture...the texture was somewhat fudgy(?) definitely not cake-like. I also greased my pan and dusted it with cinammon and sugar. Yummy! Yummy! My husband did not want me to share any with my coworkers....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: LUVSANTERIA
I have made this a few times now, and it is always a hit. I followed some of the previous suggestions and put half brown sugar and half white sugar. I also added cinnamon and cut back the oil. This cake is always better the next day! Definitely a keeper!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2009
Awwww yeah. This is one awesome cake, my friends. I subbed 1 c. sugar plus 3/4. c brown sugar for the 2 c. white, cut the oil in half and used 3 bananas because bananas are made of win. I also shortened the baking time to 45 min @ 300, but that's only because my oven is electric and therefore sucks. But in the end, this is dynamite! Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: PrincessBee
OMG!!!! Everybody at my game night loved this! I used 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar and only 1 c oil like the other suggestions. I poured the batter in the pan and layered the cut bananas in, then layered more batter on top. I also tented the cake after 30 min with foil. I did not make icing. Next time I will top it with whipped cream. This would be great with a cup of coffee! Yummy!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Kiburdan
This cake is awesome! I did followed the suggestions of half brown/half white sugar and 1 cup oil. I think i will try apple sauce and add coconut flakes as others have suggested next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: MizzCandi
This is very similar to a hummingbird layer cake my aunt makes. Since this is made in the sheet cake pan, it's much easier. I frosted the top with cream cheese icing. My family loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: CrystalGayle
Excellent!! Just as tasty with walnuts. Sooo moist...for days! Can't wait to make again and indulge in this tasty delight.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: Thankful1
My family loves this cake! My husband asks for it often. It's very easy to make and it stays moist. Yes, it tastes even better the next day! I add powdered sugar icing (powdered sugar, vanilla extract, and lemon juice) after the cake cools. I will make loaves for Christmas gifts this year. Thanks for this delicious recipe! ;-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Mar 2000
Reviewed by: ddwmitch
I would cut back on the oil next time to reduce the fat count. Overall it was a really excellent bread!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes