My Reviews (125)

Garlic and Herb Olive Oil Dip

This makes a spectacular bread dip, suitable for any occasion, great for a dinner party. Serve with warm French bread.
Reviews (125)


23 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Jillian
"Italian Butter" is a really cute name for this! I love dipping warm bread into this mixture and it comes very close to the stuff they serve at the famous Italian chain restaurant - Carrabba's. I never put this through a grinder, but rather make a bunch of it (using kosher salt vs. regular and omit the minced garlic) and store it in a small plastic container then add FRESH minced garlic on a plate and pour the olive oil over top. It's a wonderful appetizer that's a definite crowd pleaser - great with wine!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Krysdyer
This recipe was awesome! I had a party last weekend and this was my favorite part. When I made the recipe, I did not grind in grinder, I just crushed slightly with a mortar and pestle. I mixed about 1-2 tbs. of this recipe with a stick of butter and chilled for an hour or more. I roasted garlic (cut about 1/4" of garlic bulb off to expose cloves, place garlic in a small piece of tin foil, drizzle garlic bulb with about 2 tsp. of olive oil, wrap bulb completely with foil, bake at 400 degrees for 45 minutes). I placed 3 small serving plates together and put the oil with herbs in one plate, the warm roasted garlic in the other plate, then the herb butter in the 3rd plate, and served it all with slices of french bread. It was awesome!!!! Thank you so much for this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Jennifer Baker
This is excellent, and is a new staple in my house. I do recommend making it beforehand & "soaking" it in some olive oil to help the dried herbs soften. Then, it's ready to plate & be drizzled with olive oil for dipping. I store it in a small pesto jar in the fridge, and it's ready whenever we are!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: Annette
When you grind everything together, it turns into a powder and I didn't like that. It looks better on the plate if the herbs aren't ground.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: JackieO
I mixed this blend into softened butter and then refridgerated it. It made a great spread for dinner rolls.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: JORGINE
I don't have spice grinder so skipped that part but loved this dip. I did let it sit in oil for about a half hour before serving. I also forgot to put in fresh garlic but it was still good. I have been eatig this for the last 3 nights . Thanks Oh the best part is these are spices that are always in the spice rack. I had to come back and add this in. Icut up some red potatoes and tossed in olive oil and then this spice and roasted and they were wonderfullI had to come back one more time. My neighbor works for carrabas and when i showed him this blend he said looks like what they use but they use fresh herbs. FRESH WOULD BE TO COSTLY AND DOESN'T LAST SO THIS IS A GREAT MIX
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: ASHLIE H
An incredible recipe! I mix it with olive oil and balsamic vinegar over finely grated Pecorino Romano cheese. We eat it until our bread is gone!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: cookin'mama
I mix all the dry ingredients together, using a good quality salt, to keep on hand. When I am ready to serve this, I mix them with either fresh or roasted garlic, shredded asiago cheese, and pour the olive oil over the top. This is great to have on hand as a quick appetizer or to serve with soup or a salad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: JDVMD
Yummy and very simple to prepare. Served with warm French bread as the recipe suggests. I didn't bother grinding up anything.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Virginia Mom
2011-03-07: I had high hopes for this recipe after seeing the ratings, reviews & recommendations so I decided to make a double batch. I knew that the amount of pepper would be more than I'd prefer so I reduced both the crushed red pepper & ground black pepper by half. I omitted the salt as per personal preferences. I placed the ingredients in a bowl and used an immersion blender to break up the mixture since I don't own a coffee or spice grinder. Once the mixture was a smoother blend, I placed a small amount in a plate and drizzled it with olive oil and dipped some artisan Italian bread into it. The pepper amount was still overpowering to both myself and my daughter who likes a generous amount of pepper in her food. There was too much of a bite from the garlic for me. If I decide to try the recipe again, I'll sharply reduce both peppers and use roasted garlic instead.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes