My Reviews (76)

Mixed Vegetable Bake

This is a very tasty dish consisting of all kinds of fresh vegetables - like eggplants, zucchinis and mushrooms - and herbs baked in the oven. This will tantalize your taste buds.
Reviews (76)


29 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: DAISYSHOCKBLUES
this was awesome. Instead of soaking the eggplant in salt water, though I chopped it up, put it in a collander, and sprinkled salt on it. Then i let it sit for about an hour and rinsed it off. Not only does this work a lot better, but it saved time! Also, I threw a carrot or two in. I ran out of garlic so I just threw some garlic powder in and it seemed to work just as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: MYANGEL6
This was so delicious!! I did not soak the eggplant though, because I thought it would be too limp. It came out great anyway. The other reveiwer was right about the portion size. I cut it down to a three serving size and it still made six to eight servings.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: 89SARA98
Very tasty. Way too much food, though. Scaled down the recipe considerably. The vegetables are GREAT wrapped in a tortilla. Really enjoyed the flavor and heats up well. Even my non-vegetarian friends like it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: MBTAY
We had a dinner party for four, two were vegetarians. I halved this recipe and added a couple other vegetables to the mix..carrots, butternut squash. Also omitted the eggplant. We placed the vegetables on a big platter on the table, had heated honey wheat pitas and different toppings. (shredded lettuce, feta cheese, olives, chopped scallions, cucumber ranch dressing.) Everyone was able to prepare their pita to their own taste. It was a festive hit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: LAURIESUE
I thought this was wonderful! What a great blend of flavors. I modified it a little, using less eggplant and substituting zucchini, omitting mushrooms, etc. The recipe is very forgiving and works well, staying withing the basic proportions of the ingredients. I decreased cooking time, cranking up the heat a little because I was on a deadline, and it was still great. With the higher heat, mine came out a little on the roasted side, so it was hard to recognize what each of the vegetables were, but I found that to our advantage with the kids. It became a melange of wonderful flavors!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: ROKMELON
I'm not a vegetarian but with recipes like this, I could easily be convinced to become one. This is an OUTSTANDING recipe. I substituted butternut squash for the summer squash and scaled it down to 3 servings. I cooked it in my Pampered Chef stonewear casserole and it came out perfectly. I made "Peppy's Pita Bread" (recipe on this site) to go along with this and I just couldn't get over the flavor of this dish. Wonderful...thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Nov 2000
Reviewed by: TAZTER
This is a very tasty recipe. However, it takes some time to assemble and is difficult to determine when it is fully cooked. The directions should be clearer
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: ZAKKIE
I'm glad I took the advice to cut the recipe in half--however, it still made 20 servings! It was wonderful, though. I used a 28-ounce can of plum tomatoes, undrained, rather than the fresh tomatoes and tomato sauce. I also used dried spices.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: SADESHAZO
I REALLY LOVED THIS RECIPE AND I DON'T EVEN LIKE EGGPLANT THAT MUCH. IT WAS REALLY QUICK TO PREPARE EXCEPT FOR THE EGGPLANT AND SIMPLE TO MAKE. DEFINITELY A WINNER.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: Pat Megyesi
A lot of prep time cutting the vegies. The serving sizes are HUGE!!! But VERY tasty and a great way to get vitamins in winter!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes