My Reviews (110)

Apple Loaf Cake

A wonderful loaf cake recipe that is chock full of apples. It also contains cinnamon, sultanas and nuts.
Reviews (110)


22 Jan 2017
Reviewed by: PaulaNorman
I thought the proportion of flour to liquid was really out and wondered if it was meant to have a cup of milk for example as well. I added more liquid but it was still too crumbly and too sweet which is shame as the combination of apple, walnuts and sultanas is really nice.
 
16 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: GRANNYLOOHOO
It was so hot here today that I wanted a reminder of autumn! I doubled this so I could use my bundt pan and made the following adjustments to the recipe: added 2/3 cup dark brown sugar for a total of 1-2/3 c sugar instead of 2 cups; added 1 T vanilla; I shredded 2 large Braeburn apples and added 1/4 cup applesauce (for those that are tempted to add moisture to the thick batter, shred the apples and they will impart plenty of moisture--it will be like a normal cake batter once you get the apples mixed in) ; I didn't double the nuts--used 1/2 cup pecans; used 1 cup dates, no raisins; added a dash of nutmeg. Instead of doubling the oil, I was going to add 1/4 cup melted butter, but I forgot to add it--I didn't miss it at all. I would like to try it next time with 1/2 wheat flour. Now for the review: I love apple cake & my husband loves date cake--this is a perfect compromise. The cake is moist and flavorful and we both loved it. I added a glaze but it doesn't need anything to enhance it. It absolutely deserves 5 stars--thanks Steven!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: COURTNEYGRIFF
WOOOOOO-HOOOOOOOO and YUMMMMMMMO!!! What a delicious cake! I doubled the recipe for a bundt pan- used 1c whole wheat flour (I LOVE the texture this adds to baked goods) and 1 cup white flour, 1/4 c oil and 1/4 c applesauce- otherwise followed the recipe exactly. WOW! This is what an apple cake SHOULD taste like! Thank you so much for the recipe, I'll never need any other! (FYI- the bundt cake took about 1 1/2 hours to cook)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: IVANDIEPART
This cake is very moist and over-loaded of apples (that's the way an apple cake should be, according to me). It's very cinnamon-y as well (are you surprised: 1 tsp for an 8x4 loaf!). Will make it all winter long, when I need a quick, healthy and satisfying snack. I followed the recipe exactly, except I omitted nuts (I'm not very fond of it), and the cake stores quite well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: tracy mccormack
I LOVE this bread~! I did follow several hints from other reviewers....I used 1/2 cup sauce and 1 diced apple; I added 1 tsp. apple pie spice; and I only sprinkled some of the second pack of oatmeal on top. But I also used Smart Balance Light spread instead of butter....I used Splenda instead of sugar....I added a tablespoon of ground flax seed, and I used Apple Raisin Supreme packs of oatmeal. I was worried that it would be dry as the batter was very stiff, and also using the Smart Balance spread...but it turned out WONDERFUL...moist and flavorful with chuncks of apple. The only thing I'll do differently next time is to add some raisins and nuts to the mix. Thanks for this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: monjfr
it was my first time at all to bake a cake from a scrach ,and it was yummmmmmmmmy . I made it all with just apple and I added 1/2 tsb of vanilla, I found the sugar is too much for me so I used just 1/2 cup and may be I`ll reduce it the second time as long as the apple is full of sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: naples34102
Not the prettiest loaf cake I've ever made but it sure did taste good. It's a rather shallow, flat "loaf." I used dates and fresh apples from our tree (don't have a clue what kind they are but they're good and sweet!). I strayed from the recipe a little - the batter was sooo thick that I added a couple splashes of apple cider to loosen it a bit to make it easier to stir in the add-is. I also added a teaspoon of apple pie spice along with the cinnamon. I did use the nuts as well as dates so this cake was just chock full of chunks of fruit and nuts. I had intended to drizzle it with a glaze of powdered sugar and maple syrup but it wasn't even necessary. This is moist, intensely fragrant, with an unmistakable apple taste and presence in spite of the additional spice I added.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: TRUEANGEL
I added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. It was still a great recipe Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Elly
Great basic recipe. I did find it to be more bread-like than cake-like but I was expecting that and was very pleased with the texture. I added a couple splashes of vanilla and a few dashes of nutmeg to the mixture. I didn't have raisins so I omitted them (but will definitely include them next time), and used pecans in place of the walnuts, which were great. I baked this in a 9x5 loaf pan and it was done at about 38-40 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: J9215
This is an easy, tasty recipe. I replaced white for whole wheat flour and used the new Splenda/sugar baking combo. It was a pretty darn good loaf cake for a diabetic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes