My Reviews (33)

Shiitake Mushroom and Gorgonzola Risotto

This is a wonderful and well-balanced risotto with shiitake mushrooms and Gorgonzola cheese. A good main course or side.
Reviews (33)


16 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Steff
this was great! we made a few changes: fresh chanterelles (1 cup), no cream, and double the gorgonzola. We used black truffle oil instead of white. Served with cabernet sauvignon, crusty bread and a salad, this was a gourmet meal. For the lazy cooks out there like me, 12 oz. of arborio rice is 1.5 cups, and one quart of stock is 4 cups. Next time I will add a bit more garlic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Jennifer Z
FYI You can find the (tough-to-find) truffle oil at TJ Maxx
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Melbalou
This was tasty, but I think that next time I will use all fresh mushrooms - the dried chantarelles overwhelmed the dish for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 May 2010
Reviewed by: nataliehegert
Fantastic flavor--the gorgonzola (I used blue cheese since I had it around) adds a subtle delicacy to it. Very fancy tasting. Any sorts of mushrooms could work with it. I used locally grown oyster, crimini and shiitakes, fresh. Added a bit of fresh rosemary with the cheese and skipped the cream. Would probably use the cream in colder months, but in summer it seems too heavy. Definitely making this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Patti Terranova
This is very good but I prefer the gourmet mushroom risotto recipe on this site also.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Jen Bousselot
Great recipe. I used what I had around the house so I will share my changes. No truffle oil (wish I would have) and no dried chanterelles. Instead I used portabellas. No gorgonzola cheese or cream but instead goat cheese. I also had some basil I had to use up, which added great flavor. It sounds like a lot of changes but really they are just near substitutions. Oh yeah, if you use homemade chicken stock like I did, make sure you have added enough salt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: SWEETJAM
I loved this recipe. I followed it exactly. It is time consuming, but so worth it. I chose this one because it didn't require any white wine. Thanks for sharing. This tasted almost exact to some risotto I had at a Napa restaurant.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Tara
This is truly delicious! The combination of flavors is amazing!!! Five Star!! I did not have truffle oil, so instead I used a little bit of olive oil and more butter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: mary anne
This was very good. i subbed in .5 oz of dried Chanterelles and .5 oz of dried porcinis. and instead of fresh white buttons i used fresh brown mushrooms i think they were Crimini mushrooms. I agree with the other reviewer that fresh mushrooms would improve the taste. But it was delicious and got great reviews from my family!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: shaz
I love making risotto and do it rather regularly. I found the combination of flavors here to be exquisite. I was expecting the cheese to pack a more powerful punch but it balanced very nicely with the mushrooms. Well done!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes