My Reviews (39)

Homemade Chicken and Mixed Vegetable Soup

Perfect combination for a homemade chicken and vegetable soup, this recipe combines parsnips, turnips, leeks, carrots, and celery with fresh chicken.
Reviews (39)


07 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Little Old Lady
This is basically the chicken soup I have been making for years and love. The vegetables and fresh herbs listed in the recipe are usually what is in supermarket "soup mix vegetables" packages here in the U.S. northeast. To reduce the fat I do use skin-on, bone-in split chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken. There is still some fat under the skin necessary to hold the flavors. To keep the vegetables from becoming flavorless mush, I cut them bite-sized but don't add them until ~20 minutes before the soup is done and don't puree them. I add the herbs in the last few minutes. My experience is that the split breasts are done and tender after 40 minutes of simmering. So I start the breasts around 20 minutes before the vegetables in lightly salted boiling water w/ a couple of teaspoons of cider vinegar to draw some of the calcium and gelatin from the bones and skin into the broth which enriches it, then sprinkle in the black pepper. Personally while I love all the other vegetables in this recipe, especially the parsnip, I find turnip tends to overwhelm the other flavors so I don't use it. The turnip that comes in the soup vegetable package is delicious mashed into mashed potatoes, though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Carol
We thought this was soooooo good! However, I didn't not use a food processer and left my veggies cut up instead, it was really great soup. Thanks for the recipe. The 2nd time I made it I took advice from Marta and tried adding cream cheese. I found it totally changed the taste of the soup and not for the better. Keep the recipe as it is and you won't go wrong. My family and neighbors love this soup because its sooooooooo awesome!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: marta
This is such a comforting, wholesome soup. Don't leave out thing. Very good flavor. It is also nice with a block of cream cheese added to richen it up a bit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
03 Mar 2012
. Has anyone double checked the fat content on this recipe? It seems low given that every bit of fat from the chicken will be in the soup?
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
29 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: Annie Adams
This was a very good soup. My bf had been craving chicken soup for a while. I think this hit the spot! I did add some homemade Amish egg noodles to make it more filling and it may not have to be on the stove for the full two hours, the chicken fell apart before I could get it out of the pot. I will make this again! Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Katherine
My grandmother always made the best chicken soup. Whenever I made it, I couldn't quite get it right, it was always missing something...until I found this recipe. This is the best chicken soup!!! Thanks for posting it!!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: christina
The taste of some of the vegetables, i.e. parsnip, turnip, overpowered the chicken flavor. It certainly tasted "healthy". I will probably make this only when I'm really sick with the cold/flu. If you're looking for clear/light broth-based chicken soup, this isn't it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Phoenix Rising
I came down with a horrible flue a little while ago as did my girlfriend. This was the favourite recipe for chicken soup i found here and was a huge hit - nursed us both back to health - lasted about 3 days, only change i made was an extra leek - oh and i couldn't fid a bird over 3kg - but the 2.6kg on i found made it plenty meaty. Never tried the noodles etc - just good old crusty bread and it was fantastic - in fact about to make it again only 23 weeks later.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: bomackin
The flavors in this soup are divine. We did this differently (partly by planning to, and partly by misreading the directions, me thinks...). Anyway, I cooked a whole chicken in water only (overnight when the night was short anyway). Then I pulled out the chicken to cool turning the slow cooker up onto high. After deboning the meat, I returned the bones to the crockpot with some vinegar, S&P to taste. By noon time, I pulled out the bones and put in the veggies on high to cook throughout the afternoon. When the veggies were tender, I didn't only process the veggies with my blender wand, I actually misread and 'trusted' the misreading, so I blended the chicken into the soup at the same time. The expressions on my family's faces were dubious, and they expected to be reaching for the means to make PBJ's (doesn't happen often, but when one of my experiments doesn't work out, that's the agreed upon default....), anyway, when we sat down to eat the soup with salad and nice bread rolls, they were astounded with how yummy and filling, and how down-right comfort-food this turned out to be. Sorry for misunderstanding... well, sort of, and thanks for sharing, Angchick, because this 'new' type of chicken soup really is comfort food, and I'm so excited that it's getting to be fall again, so I can make this again. just picked up turnips and parsnips at the store this week, and had to share! Thanks again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Brooke
I make chicken soup at least every other week, but this is the first time I have ever used a whole chicken instead of breasts and the first time I have used turnips and leeks. I am now a whole chicken-in-soups convert, and the turnips and leeks made this seem really special. We will definitely make this recipe again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes