My Reviews (11)

Gluten Free Macadamia Pie Pastry

Tastes just like a traditional pie shell without the gluten. Celiac friendly! Use in pie recipes that call for a biscuit or shortbread base. Perfect for any tropical fruit pies.
Reviews (11)


25 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: KRISSYKOS
Thank you Crystal!! This recipe is amazing! It's easy and quick to prepare and it tastes great. On top of that, the texture is light and the pie crust holds it's form beautifully - so no crumbling and falling apart. I used it for a pumpkin pie I made last night and fed to my friends for a thanksgiving feast and they LOVED it! (None of them are gluten intolerant or coeliac, by the way). Thanks Again
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: LauraH
Soy flour gives this recipe a horrible aftertaste. The texture was great, but it tasted very strongly of soy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: LUCIAP
Thank you Crystal for this wonderful gluten free pie crust. I made a pumpkin pie with this recipe for Thanksgiving and my boyfriend who is gluten intolerant was very impressed... he doesn't get to eat pie very often. Even those that aren't gluten intolerant enjoyed this nutty pie crust and it was so easy to make!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 May 2009
Reviewed by: Donna
This recipe was awesome. I made it with a ricotta cheese pie recipe and it was phenomenal!!!!!!!!! I LOVE the flavor of pie crust and this didn't let me down!! One note...I used rice flour instead of soy flour (my husband does the shopping and thought the rice flour "looked better" LOL). It STILL turned out excellent! Thanks for sharing~
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: LBME
I tried this for a banana cream pie for my gluten-free husband. I used Bob's Redmill general pupose baking flour instead of soy flour. I don't think that was a problem. There was no conceivable way to roll this into a piecrust. I did, however, press it into the pie plate. It did brown up just like regular pie crust though. I did not care for the overpowering taste of the macadamia nuts. They are best eaten in small doses if you ask me and for $5 a bottle, I'll try another recipe. thanks for the effort though
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Heather
I cannot believe other people gave this so many stars. I tried it with a variety of toppings, it was not good with any of them. My family agreed. Sorry, not worth the effort on this one!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Jayme
I was happy to find this recipe when I was looking for a pie crust to put with some apple pie for my gluten intolerant mother-in-law. I think I may have messed up and left out about 1/2 of the nuts, so this may be my own fault, but I didn't like to initial flavor, so I added about a tsp of cinnamon to the crust. I thought it rolled out just fine. I tried making a pretty edge to the crust, which was easy to do, but would not cut through at the edges, so I don't recommend doing that. Also, this seemed a little soggy under the filling and not crispy and flaky. I am going to try this again with a pecan pie, making sure I use the right amount of nuts this time to see if that makes a difference.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Beth
Great! It was a hit with everyone that tried it! The pie I made (peanut butter) and the macadamia nuts were a great combo! I will definitely make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Illuminatedangel
I used it as a dessert pie crust. Never again. My husband and I will eat anything, but we couldn't eat the pie because the crust tasted so bad. Maybe it would be better used in a pot pie or quiche...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Oct 2017
Reviewed by: Buckwheat Queen
This is a pretty good pie crust. I used buckwheat flour instead of soy. It tastes like macadamia nuts when eating it on its own. It’s cake-like more than flaky. It rolls out quite easily, too. Use wet hands when handling. It gets sticky. I used it for mini-tart pans. It fit eight of them. Thank you for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes