My Reviews (55)

Chunky Chocolate Biscuits

As a pastry chef, I have tried countless recipes for chocolate biscuits. I haven't found another bikkie that is better than this. They can be made without using a mixer. No need to exercise self-control - enjoy them with reckless abandon!
Reviews (55)


09 Mar 2017
Reviewed by: TMPROUT
I may try this again and add extra flour as commented above. Following the recipe they ended up as flat discs that went straight into the bin...disappointing.
 
11 Sep 2015
Reviewed by: noxidion
Don't be put off by the un-biscuity-like consistency. These cookies harden up extremely well in the fridge and get to a nice consistency. I had to restrain myself from eating all the batter before it went in though! These biscuits turned out delicious, soft and gooey and honestly the best chocolate biscuits I have ever made, I definitely recommend and I will be making these in the future. Thanks for the recipe!
 
08 May 2014
Reviewed by: TeresaPeterkin
The recipe called for a 1/4 cup of flour, but as the end Raw result was supposed 2 b a dough, I had 2 add another 1 cup of flour (& another 1/2 tsp baking powder) to achieve this... Using instructed amount, recipe was a runny batter... Am guessing was misprinted? 1 & 1/4 cups, not 1/4?? Comparing to other cookie recipes, flour to sugar & egg ratios, roughly matched the final amount I ended up adding... Dough in the fridge chilling presently, so have no idea what the end result will b!!
 
20 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: ilovechoc
Sounds a little hard to make but i guess i will try thnx
 
14 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Linda(LMT)
Sinfully delicious chocolatey goodness. The best way to describe this incredibly rich chocolate cookie is like a truffle but it is a cookie. The outside gets a delicate thin crisp shell with the inside keeping an incredible softness that melts in your mouth like fudge. I covered and kept my extra baked cookies in the fridge and the next day they still had this consistency. The batter is very loose until well chilled (you need more than an hour) and then is able to be worked with as instructed (I chilled mine overnight). Don't overbake ... cookies will set up. I didn't have dutch-processed unsweetened cocoa powder which is acid-neutralized and used Hershey's natural unsweetened which was still good. The nut, chips and raisin combination perfectly compliment one another and there isn't anything I would change for this recipe except to double it to make more, more, more!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: kimmydeshon
As a cookie...maybe but as a brownie....Perfection!!! crusty yummy outside; fudgey, soft, chewy inside. I put dough in a small baking dish and baked it for about 25 minutes and they are sensational. Chocolate overload heaven! Definitely making the double batch next time. I can hardly keep my hands out of the pan so my girls can have some when they get home from school!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 May 2008
Reviewed by: MAGGIE MCGUIRE
For a chocoholic family, this recipe meets the criteria of very very chocolatey. However, after chilling one hour, the dough was quite sticky to work with. When baked, they were a more "cakey" style cookie. I prefer something crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. This cookie is soft all the way, with a tendancy to be crumbly. I still gave this four stars simply because of the uber "chocolatey" flavor. The texture left me feeling that something was missing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Denise
If you are a chocoholic, you will love these cookies! I omitted both the nuts and raisins however. The recipe suggests parchment paper, but I strongly recommend it. I made the first batch having sprayed Pam on my cookie sheet, and the cookies splat because of the grease and were very flat. The next batch I placed on parchment paper, and these looked like totally different cookies. By the way, one recipe makes a dozen cookies. I am thinking that next time I may stir in mini nonpareils instead of the chips.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 May 2008
Reviewed by: Jola
I loved them, but would leave out the raisins next time for my dh's sake. The dough is like brownie batter and when chilled overnight it was too hard to scoop, yet when softer is sticky to work with.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Debbie
Unbelievable!! Best chocolate cookie I ever ate. I'm so glad you posted this recipe. I made it exactly as you said and they came out perfect. They do spread and they are very soft and gooey but if you put them in the fridge for a bit they are wonderful!! I like my chocolate on the chilled side anyway and these cookies are perfect for that. Wonderful ... thank you!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes