My Reviews (786)

Gluten Free Chocolate Cake

This chocolate cake recipe is gluten free and uses some slightly different techniques but the result is great for anyone who likes chocolate cake.
Reviews (786)


10 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: GUYCHEF
This is a fantastic recipe for chocolate lovers. I made this three different ways over the past holidays and here are my suggestions. I tried Baker’s, Nestle and Ghirardelli bittersweet chocolate. My guests preferred the Nestle brand the best. Just as good as Ghirardelli but at half the price. For you mint lovers, for one cake I added ¾ tsp. of mint extract to the mix. Very nice and subtle result. The other reviewer advice I tried and agree with includes: Eliminate 3 egg yolks and use 3 eggs and 3 egg whites; Use parchment paper in bottom of spring form pan. I sprayed the parchment and sides of the pan with PAM; Use a lot of heavy duty foil to seal the pan and keep the water bath out. By the third try, it was totally dry; Use Grand Marnier instead of the water. It’s pricey, but what the heck; Use a long very thin blade knife to cut the cake. Run it under hot water before each cut. This eliminated sticking. I made a raspberry sauce that I served on the plate but also put a small dab of whipped cream on each piece. “Nuked” each piece for 15 seconds before adding the cream and raspberry sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2005
Reviewed by: LIZK
This was wonderful.. the second time around. This may sound a bit moronic.. but the wording threw us the first time. We used 18 squares of chocolate, instead of 18 ozs. Ended up laughing about it, taking a picture and calling it " Chocolate Passover Quiche 2005". Personally.. I would take out the (1 ounce) and just say " 18 ozs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: LAUREN30
Wow! Definitely going in the mainstay - tried and true - file of my recipe book. I'm a personal chef/caterer and last night I catered for a group of very well known classical musicians - beef tenderloin, fresh herb roasted vegetables and new potatoes, field green salad, vermouth roasted shad, prosciutto pesto palmiers, macaroons, and this flourless chocolate cake. I had several marriage proposals, was approached in the kitchen for more of this cake, and was personally brought out and given a toast for the meal (but really the cake). Are you sold? Follow the recipe exactly! I usually change things around - but there is NO NEED TO CHANGE A THING. I used ghiradelli bittersweet chocolate chips (about a bag and 1/2 of 11.5 oz bags). I wrapped my cake pan in foil for the water bath because I used a cheap spring form pan. Amazingly, the cooking times and everything are perfect. DON'T CHANGE. And a big thanks to Maggie. oh yeah - served with whipped cream (heavy whipping cream and a little powdered sugar) and fresh strawberries.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Wendy Womack
Great! I just got back from an office party where I made this for my boss, as she is allergic to wheat. Every single person out of 10 people ate both the cake and the ice cream I served with it! Like others have said, a little goes a long way. Things I didn't bother with: 1) the water bath 2) the wax paper 3) the dunking the bottom in hot water before serving These didn't make any difference at all. It still came out perfect. I simply unsnapped the springform lock and voila, ready to cut. Things I did do: 1) Followed others' suggestions of one bag of chocolate chips and 4 squares unsweet chocolate 2) Used a springform 10.5 inch pan sprayed with Pam. 3) Served it with vanilla ice cream 4) Served it at room temperature It absolutely needed something like the ice cream to go with it. I wished I had fresh whipped cream, it would have been better maybe. But as it is, this recipe comes out like the moistest, richest brownie you've ever had. So between the "brownie" and the ice cream, no one could refuse! I don't think it would be good just by itself, as it needs the vanilla or cream to offset the richness so you're not overloaded with chocolate taste. I don't think the caramel drizzle others have suggested would be good, as it is extremely sweet already. Your call. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: JEANNEBD
This should not be considered just an alternate for those who can't handle gluten! This is a spectacular, elegant, high end finish to the best of the best meals. You can delight SO many as you needn't(shouldn't) slice hearty portions. I used semisweet chocolate chips, and it was VERY GOOD, just cut back a bit on the sugar.A dusting of powdered sugar fresh raspberries and a sweetened sour cream garnish bring it up another level. Could CAUSE a celebration if there isn't one!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: junglepeachpie
Rich and delicious. I baked it it in small ramekins that were greased and dusted with cocoa powder. Cooking time was decreased by about 15 minutes. I poured blackberry sauce over the top and ate them straight from the ramekins. My guests couldn't finish theirs so I might make them even smaller next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: SNICKERPUSS
People will think you spent hours making this wonderful dessert yet it's so easy. The only change I made was using fresh brewed espresso instead of water. It tasted like pudding when it was warm & like a truffle torte when it was cold. WOW!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: MANDYEHALE
This cake was to die for. Everyone thought it was so rich and incredible! I think next time I will add 1/4 c. more sugar. Thank you so much! This is a keeper and so perfect for any special occasion. The texture is amazing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: TANYDINA
The best chocolate cake I ever eaten. Use good chocolate.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: shweta
Excellent flavor ! Tastes like a rich truffle cheesecake. Best when made the day before and chilled. Here are the changes I made to the recipe 1)Reduced the butter by 2 tbsp 2) Used 3 whole eggs and 3 egg whites 3) Used strong brewed coffee instead of the water 4) Used 12 ozs of Ghiradelli bittersweet (60% cocoa) chips and 6 ozs of Ghiradelli semisweet chips (but did not change the amount of sugar that the recipe asks for) 5) added vanilla essence. I used a 9" round non-stick cake pan, and sprayed lots of Bake-Ease non-stick spray before I poured the batter in. I baked it at 300 F for 50 minutes, in a water bath. I allowed it to cool to room temperature on counter, and then flipped in onto a tray. I had no problems with the cake sticking to the pan, and I think this was because I used a non-stick pan. Decorated the cake with strawberry syrup (made from microwaved strawberry preserves), fresh cut strawberries and powdered sugar. I chilled this cake in the fridge for a whole day before I served it. Got rave reviews on it - "Wow, this is better than what you get in top quality restaurants", "Tastes exactly like a truffle", "Absolutely delicious when eaten with the strawberries". This is a rich cake (richer when you increase the proportion of bittersweet chocolate or coffee) that you need to serve with something fruity (like berries) to complement the taste. On the whole very impressive and tasty and not at all time consuming. Will make again many times !
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes