My Reviews (250)

Beef and Eggplant Soup

Hearty eggplant soup made with beef mince and vegetables.
Reviews (250)


11 Jul 2013
Reviewed by: DeborahWeatherall
Easy
 
27 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Sherry Ann
This was soo good and soo easy! I omitted the pasta and carrots to cut down on carbs and it was just as good. For me, it was a cross between a soup, stew, and chili. Very tasty!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: bradshaw
This was really thick and hearty. Used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, used 14.5 oz cans of beef broth, and 2/3 cup of noodles. Also, put some shredded cheddar on top of each bowl. I loved this soup- my 2 year old ate a whole bowl. You can freeze this also.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Lorna
This was really awesome! The sugar in it just gives it a touch of sweetness. Even if you don't like (or think you don't) eggplant, try it. There's not an eggplant flavor and it's great! My husband's not a big eggplant fan, but he loved it, too. By the way, he's the one that made it, so it had to be easy and he followed the recipe exactly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: loveggies
Oh wow. This is one of THE best eggplant recipes I've ever tried and SO EASY! I've halved the ground beef or used ground turkey or sausage with great results. I've also added diced zuchini, squash and extra macaroni, yum. Very hearty and nobody will suspect it has eggplant! I've served it several times for company and always get compliments and requests for the recipe. Thanks!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: KSCook
I have been trying different eggplant recipes to use up the excess from the garden and this was by far the favorite. My family of 7 loved it; there was plenty plus leftovers. I used what I had on hand so I had several substitutes: I added some zucchini (1c.) and green beans (3/4c) and left out the celery; increased macaroni to 1 cup. Also I did not have Italian tomatoes so I used 6 medium tomatoes + 2 tsp. Italian seasoning +1/4 tsp. cumin. I used 6c. water + 3 tsp. beef bullion granules + 8 oz. tomato sauce in place of beef broth. I think would turn out great no matter what veggies you throw in!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: JFrancis
DELICIOUS! Follow recipe exactly (which I usually don't do) and it turned out perfect! Also, leftovers freeze extremely well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: swandive81
This was so nice and hearty... used ground turkey instead of beef, and chicken stock instead of beef stock. I was going to omit the noodles altogether, but at the last minute i threw in some whole-wheat cous cous. fantastic!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: JULES2JEWELS
Excellent recipe! I added a red bell pepper, used whole grain small elbow macaroni, omitted the parsley, did not drain the tomatos and added some red pepper flakes. This is a great base for adding all kinds of vegetables. I think it would be great to add a can or red kidney beans since the texture is very much like chili. Thanks for the great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: MACHALTER
My husband normally has not much to say, but he liked this one a lot. I loved it. A keeper for sure. I changed it to turkey and had one can of beef broth and one of turkey. Used small noodles (the little tiny tube kind) and it was great. Thanks for the great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes