My Reviews (50)

Eggplant Bruschetta Topping

This dish is easy to prepare and freezes well. Baked eggplant is mixed with a variety of vegetables and flavours. Serve it cold with crackers or on bread.
Reviews (50)


20 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Beth
I made this for a party I attended yesterday. I used balsamic vinegar too, didn't peel the eggplants, but DID salt and drain them in a colander an hour before using them. The recipe came out PERFECT, not marinara-ish AT ALL! I served it with toasted pita chips and it was more popular than the regular salsa/chips on the table. EVERYONE raved about it! I will definitely make this again, not only for home enjoyment but for my company's potluck lunches. Easy, elegant, and very yummy. Splurge for pita chips or toast some French or Italian bread and skip the saltines or Ritz crackers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: MUFFINMAGGIE
When I made this I didn't chop up the eggplant small enough to really fit on a cracker or pita chip with much else.... i guess i wasn't really thinking as i was chopping. But, after it cooked, to remedy the situation, i put the whole thing in a food processor. Man is it good! It came out as more of a dip, but it's a delicious dip, and so healthy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: THOSJOYCE
Awesome. I served it on shredded cabbage with a dash of red wine vinegar, a few fresh green olives and plum tomatoes sliced, and topped with shredded parmesan. Like an exotic "downtown" summer salad. Really fresh and tasty on a sweltering day. You must try it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: Georiga's peach
This is one of the best appetizer I have ever had! Since I did'nt have any tomato paste I just used Italian garlic tomato paste it is just as good. Thank you so much!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: JCL
This was very good, but I doubt there was enough for 48 servings there. Once it was done, I made some italian toasts and spread the antipasto over them, sprinkled some parmesian on top and put it back in the oven for about 5 minutes. It was a big hit at my party.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Liz L.
Fantastic. I don't bother peeling the eggplant, and I personally don't like mushrooms or olives. I substitute zucchini for the mushrooms, and 1-2 tbl of capers for the olives. Instead of the vinegar sugar combo I followed others suggestion and just use balsamic vinegar to taste-1/4 cup probably. If possible I add fresh herbs instead of dried, and cook it longer than 30 minutes, 45 more likely. Great with fresh soft/crusty bread or over pasta.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: lili
This is great!! I used to have a roommate whose mom made something like this and I loved it. The recipe sounded akin to what she made but I had no idea what it was called. Anyway, instead of using red wine vinegar I used balsamic vinegar, just a personal preference of mine, but I think it really helped to develop the flavor, and I used a 1/4 cup of it. The only other alterations were more garlic, not peeling the eggplant, and I didn't have oregano and basil at hand but I had italian seasonings, so I used a 1/2 tsp of that, instead. Oh, and I didn't bother to add the sugar since balsamic vinegar already has some sweetness to it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: LucyDelRey
I did not peel the eggplant because the chore seems so tedious and it came fine. Be sure to place the chopped up eggplant and sprinkle and toss the salt and place in colander for 30 minutes. This drains the bitter juices from the eggplant. I served this cold on top of crackers (SEE MY PHOTO). I do recommend serving this on top of Ritz crackers if serving to company. TY for the recipe!! BTW, this recipe is totally vegan too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: jay
I made this for a girls night out picnic. I didn't add green peppers yet the recipe was simply delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: katrwag
I keep trying to eat this cold on a cracker, but it is SOOO delicious served hot over rice!!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes