My Reviews (47)

Deliciously Spicy Chickpea Curry

This is a curry I've come with over the years. I use this as a base and then add any vegies or meat I feel like. Serve with rice and naan bread.
Reviews (47)


08 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: LEO317
I thought this was pretty good if you really have a craving for Indian. I did cut some calories by using light coconut milk and light sour cream. Served with jasmine rice. It was pretty easy to prepare, although there were a lot of ingredients - I would recommend measuring and putting all the spices together before starting to cook the onions. Overall it was tasty, but I didn't find it exceptional.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Beth Jackson Reeser
This was a HUGE hit at my last dinner party. I would give this 5 stars except I changed the recipe a bit. I left out the last 5 ingredients and it turned out great. I just couldn't add ketchup and sour cream, and didn't need the milk, bouillon or ground almonds. As others suggested I also used light coconut milk, and cooked it much longer than indicated to get my potatoes to cook through. I used new potatoes, and needed to add about 15 minutes to the cook time. Squeeze some lime juice over just before serving. Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: 1-2-3 Autism Free
I have been making curry almost weekly for quite some time now. For some reason, I got a bug to try a new recipe and this is one that popped up. I chose it because of its use of garam masala and turmeric - true flavors of India. My family eats a gluten and casein (dairy) free diet so I did make some changes. My replacements were as follows: butter - Earth Balance soy-free milk - DariFree milk replacer sour cream - Tofutti Better Than Sour Cream chicken bouillon - Gluten free all-natural chicken flavor concentrate I also only had one regular potato so I used it and a sweet potato, as sweet potatoes are what I typically use in my curry. I did not add the ground almonds because I didn't feel it needed thickening. Others mentioned they did not add the ketchup. I did but didn't really taste what difference it made. The taste of this was about four stars. I almost gave this three stars because I felt the recipe called for a lot of ingredients - not to mention, ingredients not typically used in curry but I felt that it is not the fault of recipe provider that I'm spoiled by another recipe that has less ingredients. The recipe I normally use packs a much more flavorful punch and this one left me feeling that it was good but needed something. Maybe lemon juice?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Sasha Lindberg
loved this curry. i left out the last 5 ingredients and it turned out yummy. i used full fat coconut milk (coconut fat is good for you) and red potatoes. the only problem was even on low heat w/ the lid on, it stuck a little on the bottom, but not enough to effect the dish. next time i will add chopped cilantro and green tomato chutney and naan bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: Karen Bleakley
Fabulous recipe. I adjusted the spices for our tastes, used chopped fresh cauliflower instead of potatoes, left out the milk, sour cream and almonds. Served with naan bread. Everyone loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: ANJACKSON
Loved this! I scaled my recipe back to 2 servings as I only had a half can of lite coconut milk to use up. I used several mini potatoes as they were all I had on hand, and I cooked them ahead in the microwave for a couple of minutes based on others comments - perfect! I also left out the ground almonds and cubes of bouillon - the almonds I did not have, and the bouillon cubes I do not use, but figured they would just add a ton of sodium anyway! Fantastic...next time will make it to serve over basmati as I only ate it as a side dish to my chicken!! Super yummy, will make again for sure
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: veggieprincess
Love it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Amanda Vanderhaar
yum! i didn't add tomato or almonds, it was still delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: 100daysofwinter.com
Delicious and a great base for your own versions of curry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: allotmentmum
Absolutely delicious. I didn't add any sour cream, as I didn't have any, but it tasted wonderful without it. Even my pulse-hating 13 year old son came back for second helpings!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes