My Reviews (17)

Twice the Chocolate Biscotti!

These chocolate biscotti have a little instant coffee powder added which really complements the flavour of the chocolate. Fancy but simple to make.
Reviews (17)


20 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: WWJB?
Great recipe, perfect with coffee! When I add a splash of milk (the original dough recipe is a little dry), I also add a teaspoon of cocoa.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: TheBritishBaker
Great biscotti, although I think its more of a Mocha biscotti than a double chocolate. The only negative for me is that the dough is very prone to crumbling. (I am an avid Biscotti baker and this is not something that usually happens for me) the dough itself was really crumbly when it came to making the logs, so I did knead it a little like I would a loaf of bread, which made it a little better. Once the logs came out of the oven and I let cool for 10 minutes I did have a few crumble on me. As always I bake the first time on wax paper. Over all a good biscotti, pity about the crumbling! I will play around a little with this recipe next time, maybe more vanilla will keep it together better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: PPK
Good Chocolate flavor, but crumble. We'll stick with our regular chocolate biscotti recipe that it much better in texture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: NancyH
I liked this, and thought it very good. I omited the pecans, and forgot to paste on the yolk-water mixture. Not sure if that made a difference or not, but I also didn't have enough regualar cocoa powder, so I put in some dark powder. It was really good that way. I can see how some thought of it tasting more mocha than chocolate, but I saw a hint of that, but mostly chocolate. 2 thumbs up!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Jackie C
Really good. I didn't have walnuts so I substituted pecans, worked out just as well. Will be making these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Chesca
I love biscotti and this recipe filled my desires of chocolate and biscotti at the same time! Great recipe I added a little more sugar because I have a huge sweet tooth, but you can add or remove sugar as you please. I found that this recipe was devoured in under 1 hour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: diannapop
This is a great recipe for biscotti. My family does not like the anise flavour in traditional biscotti, so this was a big hit. Mine crumbled a bit as well, but just a few pieces. Also - I substituted slivered almonds in place of the walnuts, and I didn't have any instant coffee granules, so those are optional as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: mattswife1123
Pay close attention to baking times! I let mine go to long and they got crumbly. Not to much of a chocolate flavor, more of a mocha.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: rosi
this got 3 stars as a biscotti, but it could probably get 4.5 as an ice cream topping. the dough was completely dry and half of it shattered when i tried to slice it! i ended up with a dozen biscotti and two cups of crumbs
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2010
These were just ok. They wasn't really anything wrong with them, they just didn't have a great chocolate flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes