My Reviews (105)

Double Chocolate and Bacon Biscuits

The best of both worlds! Sweet, savoury and absolutely delicious.
Reviews (105)


04 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: naples34102
Please pay attention to all of the 5-star reviews, particularly those who made no changes to the recipe, other than maybe using regular bacon rather than maple (I used regular bacon too) - because they are dead on accurate. I have to admit I made these today basically as an experiment out of curiosity. The chocolate-bacon combo has been a hot trend for awhile and I wanted to check it out for myself. Now I don't know if it's necessarily the bacon in these cookies that makes them so awesome good, but trust me and all the other 5-star reviewers, this is just a fantastic, perfect chocolate-chocolate chip cookie, one of the best I've ever tried as a matter of fact. I had Hubs try one without telling him the "mystery ingredient" and while he didn't notice the bacon, he quickly devoured it (eating the whole thing quickly is a VERY good sign of a VERY good cookie). I tried one myself and what struck me immediately was the lightness of this cookie - a completely different texture and density than others I've tried. I did notice the bacon, but perhaps only because I was looking for it -and the hint of it was nice, and just right. I wouldn't add any more. If the cookie is good already, what would be the point? And if I wanted a bacon cracker, or a bacon sandwich, I'd look for another recipe. These are delicious - moist, fudgey but light with just the slightest crispness on the surface. Trying this excellent chocolate-chocolate chip cookie today was sheer serendipity.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I wanted to try this as close to the recipe as I could. I used half butter, half Crisco and I chilled the dough during the kids' quiet time before baking. That was the only change I made. I used my small cookie scoop for uniform cookies and they were done at about ten minutes to the chewy-soft stage that our family likes. My kids and I fell in love with these. Oh em gee, you should have heard them go sideways over chocolate-bacon cookies. I recommend you use a quality maple bacon, I bought mine at Tacoma Boys, and I cooked it on tinfoil to crisp in the oven. This one's a keeper. I'd like to try this cookie dough recipe in Lovestohost's cupcakes! NOTE: I made a second batch today, this does work with all butter, as long as you chill the dough. These ARE absolutely delicious. Completely addictive.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: lovestohost
These are an excellent cookie! DON'T BE AFRAID OF THE BACON! Trust me. Chocolate & bacon make for a happy marriage...they're like (trying to think of a happy celebrity marriage to use for an example....still thinking.....) LTH & Mr LTH (I gave up). I followed the recipe, except I halved it because I didn't have enough bacon for the whole recipe. I also don't care for maple, so I used regular bacon. I made teaspoon sized balls (and I didn't flatten them) and they made perfect little bite sized cookies. Be sure to almost OVERcook your bacon so it falls apart when you touch it. Don't be afraid to give these a shot; they're worth it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: TheHotPinkLady
Absolutely delicious. My mother said they were the best cookies she'd ever eaten. I recommend substituting brown sugar for white for a richer flavor. Make sure to blend the *room-temperature* butter and sugar FIRST before you add any other ingredients, and use a handmixer. Otherwise, the butter is nearly impossible to fluff and will just break up and make the batter lumpy. I'd also recommend putting the bacon into a food processor to crumble so that the pieces are a consistent size. There is *very* little liquid in this recipe (just the eggs and vanilla), so the batter, with all the ingredients, is going to be extremely thick. I actually destroyed my handmixer trying to mix it (it started smoking and just broke), so I'd recommend only mixing this by working it with your hands or in a sturdy standing mixer. You can make the balls of batter tablespoon-sized for a bigger, more moist cookie, and don't flatten them! Refrigerate for one hour before baking so the cookies will be thick. I baked for 14 minutes, and they were flawless, or, bake them until the very outer edges have hardened slightly and the rest of the cookie is still very soft. My new favorite cookie of all time!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: MichiGirl
When I saw bacon and chocolate chips together, I thought they would turn out nasty. Now, they're my new favorite. Combining the best of both worlds, meat and chocolate, This is simply delicious with a savory twist. The only thing I recommend is to not add 2 cups of chocolate chips- it can overpower the bacon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: LKCHANG
i won a cookie bake-off with this recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: susie0839
I love bacon. I love chocolate chip cookies. I don't think the two are compatible textures. The flavour was okay, it was just strange to come across little hard bits of bacon. I used relatively thick bacon cut into small pieces. We'll see how they go over at work tomorrow - I work with all boys. Bacon anything should be a hit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: abapplez
I halved the recipe in case we didn't care for them. I wish I would have gone ahead and made the whole batch. These are delicious. Addicting sweet/savory, perfect little cookies. My first batch spread a little more than I like so I just put the batter in the fridge for about and hour and used a small ice cream scoop and they turned out great. Used regular bacon (I don't care for maple flavor) and chopped the bacon so you could still see it and taste it. We will definately make these again. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: MrsCrazyPete
I had originally tried the bacon/chocolate combo in a cupcake, and after loving that, started searching for similar recipes! I made the recipe exactly as is, and so far it's delicious! We'll see what my husband thinks when he gets home...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Candice
I really want to give this recipe 10 STARS!!!! They are officially my NEW FAVORITE COOKIE!!! I ate so many this evening I have a tummy ache. Who knew these little gems could be so danged good? I followed the recipe exactly and added a sprinkling of kosher salt on top immediately upon taking them out of the oven. They are addicting and I'M ADDICTED. I actually don't know if I should make them again. I may need monitoring or a 12 step progam. Thanks for a wonderful recipe MegPie!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes