My Reviews (67)

Chocolate Chip and Apple Cake

Apples add moistness to the spicy chocolate batter, and chocolate chips further enhance the chocolate flavour of this delicious cake.
Reviews (67)


16 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: sassyoldlady
Loved this!!! Just a little too much nutmeg for me, but very flavorful, dense and robust. The taste just tickles your tastebuds, spicy, fruity, melty, yummy. Can you tell I liked this? Really good. Thanks Carol!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Moore814
Moist and dense cake. I doubled the amount of chocolate chips, and increased the apples to 3 cups. Used a bundt cake pan and baked at 350 for 50 minutes. Turned out delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Reda B
very moist and chocolate chips make it really yummy
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: PULLEYHEATHER
I may have done something wrong when I made this, but I found it very heavy. All the chocolate chips fell to the bottom of the cake too, which I didn't really like. It is very moist and the cake itself has a nice spice flavor, but I don't think I'll make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: recipes need gluten
Very moist cake, next time I would chop the apple finer. Very good, did not use chocolaate chips, it was sweet enough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Tricia
Fantastic cake. This was so very simple to make. I made it in a bunt pan. The kids helped, apples were larger than i would have chopped but they loved it. I added walnuts to mine. The kids really loved it. The chocolate with the spices really creates an unusual flavor that works perfectly. I can't wait to make this again, it would be just perfect warm with cinnamon flavored whipped cream and a cup of hot cider.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: DARIAD
Easily one of the best cakes I've ever made. Whenever I serve it, people are skeptical, but end up LOVING it! I've used milk cholcolate chips instead of semisweet, and a half teaspoon of ground nutmeg instead of a full teaspoon. Yummy and moist and a reall crowd pleaser!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: BECCAP
great and different recipe! love the combination of chocolate and cinnamon, and the addition of texture and sweetness from the apples was wonderful. i substituted apple pie spice for the cinnamon and nutmeg, and used a bundt pan. i think adding nuts would be something i'll try next time. thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: spicytunaroll
Really moist and delicious. just b/c i had one i added a banana. Also I used pureed apples b/c i didn't want it to be chunky, and since it seemed to make the batter thin enough, I didn't add the 1/2 cup water as recipe states. Since I like the chocolate flavor I added twice the cocoa powder. I used about 1.5 cups sugar, about half cup Splenda. The chips didn't sink to the bottom for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: googie
I loved this cake! BUT a couple of notes. Half of my family loved this cake, and the other half thought it was "Christmasy" and thought the apple/chocolate/spices mixture was weird. SO if you're looking for an "everyone will love it" chocolate cake, this may not be it. It'll probably be a bigger hit at a potluck or something. Also, if you add extra apples (I put 3 in), it does add extra moisture, making it slightly heavier but very moist. You may want to put half the nutmeg so it's not too overpowering. I also floured and greased the pan as best as I could, but chunks still came off when I took the cake out. But if you do what I did, stick the pieces back on it and drizzle chocolate on the top or spread chocolate icing on the top, it will make it even more delicious. ;-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes