My Reviews (67)

Chocolate Chip and Apple Cake

Apples add moistness to the spicy chocolate batter, and chocolate chips further enhance the chocolate flavour of this delicious cake.
Reviews (67)


Comment:
23 Oct 2010
LynV1 said:
 
11 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: JMAHON01
My family REALLY liked this recipe! We have made it several times but usually add a frosting. Our favorite frosting is to take another cup or so of the choclate chips, add about a tablespoon of crisco, heat to melting point in microwave, stir well .... then drizzle over the top and sides of the cake. PS: when adding the chips to the cake (not the frosting) you MAY want to add them AFTER you have poured the batter into the pan. Basically just sprinkle them on top and stir them only slightly into the batter. This way they may not settle as much toward the bottom. To me this cake tastes even better after it has been around for a day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: GRESHAM58DC
This recipe is one my family has used for over 30 years. My little sister won a blue ribbon at our county fair with it. I'll will note here that the nutmeg may be replaced with ground allspice for a nuance of flavor I prefer. As much as 1 cup of chopped nuts may be added if desired. A bundt pan may be used instead of the tube pan without making any change in time or temperature.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: nc
This is a great-tasting cake that my family loved. The recipe is very accommodating to variations, as I discovered. You can halve proportions and bake in an 8x8 inch square pan. If you want to speed up baking time, you can bake at 350 instead of 325 and start checking the center for done-ness at around 45 minutes. You can double the amount of cocoa and also increase the apples. I used all whole-wheat flour instead of white flour. I also substituted buttermilk for half the butter, and the finished product was still extremely moist and delicious. The acidity in the buttermilk reacts with the baking soda, so the flavor will not be sour and the reaction will also lighten the cake somewhat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Tara
very good recipe..instead of white sugar i used brown and used 4 c grated apples instead of the 2 and i cooked it in a 13x9 inch pan for 50 minutes at 325...yummy
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: SISSI808
An interesting, unusual, and delicious cake that's not too difficult to make. Good for special occasions.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Lidia
I found this recipe really spicey - but overall super delicious. I made it for the first time on a friday night by the end of the weekend - I had made it 3 times!! By the last one, I used 1/2 a tsp of nutmeg. It was much better - you can taste the cinnamon and chocolate chips a lot more.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Jeanie
Excellent! Even after I made it more "healthy" it was still decadent. I double the apples (I used 4 apples, finely dicing 2 and pureeing the other 2 in a food processor) and cut the butter in half. I also reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups (the apples are very sweet) and use whole wheat flour. I also reduced cooking time to 1 hour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Sara
I made this just for fun and it came out EXCELLENT! Completely random combination, but it tastes amazing! I used 1 cup of mini semi sweet chocolate chips rather than the regular - which spreads the chocolate more throughout the cake. I also dusted with a light layer of powdered sugar. I finally had a recipe to share with my grandmother rather than begging her for something new to try!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: Pam Ziegler Lutz
I loved this. The flavors work very well together and the cake is rich and moist.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes