My Reviews (61)

Chicken, Spinach and Potato Soup

This delicious, fresh soup combines all of the great features of a full meal into one bowl.
Reviews (61)


09 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: summer
This was the greatest recipe for soup I have ever had!!! I omitted the garbanzo beans, red peppers, and parmesan cheese, which took the calories per cup down to 150 - I think it's the olive oil that makes it taste so good, and if you're using bouillion, I highly recommend "Better than Bouillion" - lower in sodium, and tastes more like real chicken broth straight from the stock pot!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: heather@ucla
Great recipe! My husband even likes it (and he's not a big broth soup fan). I added a roma tomato, mushrooms, and topped with avocado. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: argelia2008
I liked this one. I tried it with white rice. I served some rice on a bowl, then I served the soup on top and it tasted really good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Angela W
I made this recipe because I was trying to empty out my fridge. I did not make this recipe because I thought it sounded like a great recipe, I thought that it would be filling and help make room for new stuff. Was I ever wrong!! This was really good. My dad, who does not like soup, took seconds!! Without being asked. I made this mostly how it calls for, except that I sauteed cut up chicken thighs, I didn't poach and shred. And I used an immersion blender to chunk up the potatoes a bit after they were mostly cooked. I did end up shredding some of the chicken in the process, but it worked. Will definitely be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: tnbelle
This soup is AWESOME! Hubby and I were able to stop eating it ONLY after our stomachs protested that they were way too full! Very filling soup. Made a few changes: 1/2 diced onion, 1 1/2 t. salt, 1/2 t. miso. I didn't have roasted red peppers, so I used 1/2 c. diced green pepper and roasted it in a black iron skillet in 1 t. olive oil and 1/2 t. sugar (could use soy sauce instead of sugar if not using miso) till the edges were brown. Left out the Parmesan cheese and served over jasmine rice. Added pepper to taste in individual bowls. This is definitely going in our regular rotation! YUM!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: cjucoder
Excellent soup! Instead of poaching the chicken I browned it with lemon pepper seasoning in the soup pot. That added a lot of flavor to the broth. Also added some carrots, celery and leeks that I needed to use up (and let's face it, you can never go wrong putting those veggies in a soup!). Used 4 cups water and 4 cups chicken stock.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: MonaT33
A great comfort food and perfect for a rainy day. I love soups anyway, but this one was quick, easy and fairly inexpensive to make. I liked that it was easy on the stomach and YUMMY too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2012
Reviewed by: nattylynn
This is a tasty dish, however I would double to triple the spinach and red pepper. I added a tomatoe which tasted great in it, also I don't think I'll add garbanzo beans again they're kinda outta place in this dish...textures off. Otherwise everything else was really good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: ctlyn
Just made this and it was amazing! (I didn't have any garbanzo beans or red peppers) The only thing I did differently was to add a bunch of diced carrots to the onion/garlic mixture. I will make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Seattle2Sydney
Nice soup. My children enjoyed it. I didn't add extra salt as I wanted to reduce the salt. I didn't have the red peppers so omitted them too. I also reduced the garlic a bit. It was a nice combination of ingredients and to me it felt smooth and tasted kind of buttery/creamy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes