My Reviews (7,781)

Chicken Pie

A delicious chicken pie with carrots, peas and celery. Use chicken stock instead of the water if you like just watch you don't use too much liquid.
Reviews (7781)


11 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: sarah2810
Was easy and delicious!Thanks!
 
05 Jul 2017
Reviewed by: RobKer
Like everyone else, I boiled the chicken & veggies in stock. I added extra seasoning to the sauce and did 1 1/2 times the recipes, for a while I thought I had too much sauce but will double it next time.. Deep dish, 190 for 40mins. Best chicken pie I have ever eaten.
 
14 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: FERGUNA
The first time I made this I followed the recipe to the letter and thought it tasted great but was too dry. So I doubled the sauce, used a deep dish pie plate, reduced the temp to 375 & baked for 45 minutes. It was perfectly moist without being runny, and the pie shells were perfectly done. Absolutely fabulous! Goes without saying it is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Renee Bishop Kim
After reviewing several ratings I made some recommended changes. The first being I added more seasoning (garlic pepper, garlic powder, poultry seasoning) to the sauce and to the chicken mixture before cooking. Also, I cooked the chicken and veggies in chicken stock instead of water. My husband doesn't like celery so I used potato instead and also added some corn. I used Pillsbury ready made pie crusts (so easy..just open and unroll). And after brushing with egg white, baked the bottom crust for 5 minutes. I doubled the sauce and added most to the chicken mixture before putting it into the pan. I baked on 375 for 40 minutes. It looked and tasted delicious!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: ITSYCOOK
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars for the way it turned out after my modifications, without them I doubt it would have been as good. I took a lot of the previous suggestions, and I boiled my veggies in chicken broth (just added a boullion cube) although I didn't use peas (can't stand them) and just boneless, skinless breast meat. I used 3/4 cup of onion, and subbed 1/2 tsp garlic powder for celery seed (didn't have any). I drained the broth from the veggies, and used 2 cups in the pan, and after I added everything into the crust, I poured about another 1/4 cup of broth in with everything (as other reviewers complained it was too dry). Cooked for 30 min in a gas oven, and it came out perfect! Will definitely make again. edited to add: I also made this with 3 small, cubed potatoes, and it made it even better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: MUSIC_MINX
Boil the chicken and veggies? For 15 minutes? And then throw the broth away? Then add canned broth? Really? Is that how to do it? I suggest sauteeing the chicken pieces, celery and onion together, adding the frozen veggies, add the broth, spices and mix the flour with a little water to add and thicken the mixture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Christi
This was SO delicious, the best I have ever tasted. I made it with the "Butter Flaky Pie Crust" and it turned out perfectly flaky and wonderful. I pre-baked the bottom crust for 6 minutes, doubled the black pepper, added a tsp. of poultry seasoning and garlic salt and a diced potato. I added an extra 1/4 c each of milk and broth to combat any dryness. It turned out SPECTACULAR and was a huge hit with the family...they even ate it for breakfast. Will definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: BROSNANFAN
I am not a "pot pie" fan but made this for my guy yesterday. Took the advice of others and used a rotisserie chicken, added poultry seasoning and garlic powder, etc. Also used frozen deep dish pie shells. Next time I will mix the filling and gravy together before putting it in the shell. I couldn't get the liquid to seep down through which caused the filling to be a bit too dry. I also think it needed a little bit more salt so will use garlic salt rather than powder next time. It was still pretty good considering my distaste for "pot pies". Definitely think mixing the filling with the liquid is the answer. Update: made this again but used frozen mixed veggies in addition to a cubed potato and the onion. Made extra gravy (about 1/2 more) and mixed with the filling before putting in the pie shell. Really helped the dryness. Yet another update: Made this again using phyllo puff pastry in ramekins and wow is it good! Perfect size for the grand kids who loved it! We also froze some and took to work for lunch - takes about 5-7 minutes in the microwave! Note: I always have L.B. Jamison's chicken soup base on hand and add a spoonful to chicken & noodles, chicken soup, this recipe and others. Really brings out the flavor!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Becky Mader Wisniewski
This was AMAZING! My family kept raving how good it was. Like others before me, I boiled the veggies and the chicken in the chicken broth. When the chicken was done I saute'd it in butter with garlic, onions, salt and pepper. I also added a can of cream of chicken soup because I needed more gravy. There was so much meat and veggies that I put it in a 9x13 pan and topped it with two pilsbury already made dough. I brushed the top of the dough with egg white and it came out so wonderful! What a recipe. I will be making this again and again. Update - I made this with left over roast from last nights meal and it was amazing. I used beef broth and also a jar of beef gravy so we'd have extra. My kids liked it better then the chicken pot pie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Maya B.
I've been making this for years now, and I've adjusted the recipe as follows: 1) I double the sauce recipe as others suggest, 2) I add in poultry seasoning, garlic powder, and chili powder to the sauce to taste, 3) I just use a 16oz package of frozen mixed veggies and a diced potato. I boil these in broth with the chicken, 4) After the sauce has thickened, I dump the chicken and veggies (after draining) into the saucepan and stir it all together before putting it in my pie. Doubling the sauce and adding extra veggies gives me a little leftover filling when I do a regular deep dish pie (I'm ok with this though, as I happily eat the filling on its own). However, usually I make 2 dozen mini pies in my muffin tin, cooking for 20 minutes. I love these mini pies because I'm constantly on the run and can eat them with one hand without a fork and knife!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes