My Reviews (82)

Gaeng Gai Bama (Burmese Chicken Curry)

This is actually a northern Thai dish with a definite Burmese influence. I first ate it in a Burmese restaurant in Melbourne. I asked for the recipe and of course I didn't get it so I experimented with some Thai recipes and came up with this. We really love this with steamed jasmine rice.
Reviews (82)


27 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: fallingfate
Skipped the onions, very tasty!
 
14 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: LURK922
This is really good, though quite spicy. It all depends on the red curry paste you get, though. When I made it, my roommates and I had to eat slowly, drink water, and use a lot of rice. :0) In any case, definitely a good recipe. I replaced the palm sugar with brown sugar, the fish sauce with salt, and used a can of diced tomatoes for all the tomatoes in the recipe. Truthfully, the Shallots and Cilantro are garnish. If on a tight budget, eliminate them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: 6FT2REDHEAD
Very tasty! My husband is Burmese (born and raised in Rangoon/Yangon). He agreed with the description Michelle gave to the dish. It really is a Thai dish, not a Burmese one. However, since it has a Burmese influence, I thought I'd cook it up and see if it met with his approval. I substituted the coconut milk for reduced fat coconut milk. It worked perfectly and he loved the dish. He suggested that more fish sauce should be added (about 1 Tbsp. more) to give it a more authentic Burmese influence. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: yummy4mytummy
Everyone I cook this for always loves this recipe. A few tips. It is easy to overcook the chicken - keep an eye on it. I like to add additional vegetables sometimes (carrots, zucchini and straw mushrooms). I keep half the tomatoes fresh (uncooked) and use them to garnish the dish with the cilantro and shallots (see picture). Make sure that when you cook the shallots you cook them well, they are best when they are definitely brown and definitely crispy. Finally, red curry paste varies widely in how hot it is. Be careful the first time you use a new bottle - it is easy to add more as you go (doesn't have to all be added at the beginning). Frequently I find that there is too much liquid, just dump some off. The ratios of liquids are not that important and I frequently just add in the whole can of coconut milk. The liquid is great with the rice, so don't stress about how much liquid you have, just make sure the flavor is right. Great recipe! A nice dish for the winter because of the nice cheery colors and the spice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: DEBMCE4
I made mistakes with this one. Used small pieces of chicken, so I shouldn't have used so much water. Had to let the water boil off. I ended up adding more about another 1/2 cup of coconut milk (lite) and stirred the cilantro into the sauce. This was a bit salty, I would probably use a little less fish sauce next time. Still tasted great. Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: NEVADA753
I really like this recipe, it has a great balance of flavors the fried shallots really adds to it but if you dont have enough you can fry up crispy, some paper thin sliced onions. I have made this a few times with chicken and just tried it with baked firm tofu (30 min at 400 degrees) marinated with 6 tblsp. of soy sauce, 2 tsp of both honey and balsamic vinegar and a few cloves of garlic. My family especially my husband likes finely minced fresh jalapeno peppers in the dish. I dont use palm sugar, just reg. sugar. Thank you M. Chen for submitting this recipe which is now served frequently in my home.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Karen_M
I don't like to review a recipe when I have changed it, but this one had great "bones" and we enjoyed it very much. Did not use the shallots, fresh tomatoes, or cilantro, but DID use the curry paste, curry powder, and coconut milk as directed; I also used a small can of diced tomatoes instead. Thickened it up with a little flour in the cocount milk and stirred it in. Served it with sticky rice, and cole slaw. Will make again! Dee-lish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: LetyPat
This dish was very good. Easy to prepare. Browned chicken in skillet and finished in the crock pot. We could not find palm sugar anywhere and we live in a very diverse area. Used medium curry paste, would have preferred hot. The dish was missing something, maybe an additional spice. We couldn't figure it out, but we still believe this recipe is a 5 star and will make again. BTW - the curry paste stained our utensils.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Stephn
this was the 5th curry dish i've tried off allrecipes. hands down, this was the best! dee-lish!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Jules
Yum! My mom is from Burma and while this was really good, it's not Burmese, as Michelle says. I added too much water as I was afraid that it would be too hot-- big mistake. Barely cover the chicken with water. Also, my red curry paste wasn't very hot at all, so I added almost twice the amount. I used soy instead of fish sauce (I know it's not really an acceptable substitute, but I didn't have any!) and skipped the cilantro because the boyfriend doesn't care for it. Served this over coconut rice.. delicious! A note about the shallot garnish: I use a regular yellow onion and just slice it really thin. My mother uses much more oil so that she can store the fried onions on the countertop (in oil) and use it as garnish whenever she pleases. Although, I changed quite a bit, I have no doubt the recipe would be good as written.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes