My Reviews (56)

Basil Pesto Hummus

This deliciously sweet hummus is bursting with basil. it's so good, you could eat this by itself with a spoon, although spreading it on crackers of any kind will do.
Reviews (56)


02 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: CO
This was excellent! I doubled the garlic, soy sauce, and balsamic vinegar for extra flavor. I will definitely make this again and again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2008
Reviewed by: gapch1026
Didn't have fresh basil but did have some pesto that I had prepared with fresh basil. I too thought that the hummus needed more oil to spread well and I also added a tsp or so of lemon juice to brighten the fresh taste. Blended in feta cheese by hand before serving. I took this to an office luncheon and received compliments. Will make this again once I have an abundance of basil from the garden...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Kaitlyn
This is absolutely delicious, especially served on a slice of homemade french bread!!! I did have a few changes to the recipe, however. First of all, I did not have any balsamic vinegar on hand, so I used red wine vinegar instead. Secondly, while pureeing the mixture, it became very dry, so I added water until it was the desired consistency. Other than those two changes, the recipe was fantastic! I made this for Christmas, and everyone loved it's amazing flavor!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: CRAZY4SUSHI
This is a basil hummus. This needs quite a bit of liquid added to this in order to get it to blend to the right smoothness. I like the taste of the fresh basil, but this hummus needed some work. I did end up adding a dash of cumin and a good amount of lemon and a tablespoon or so of tahini.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Jillaceae
Yum! This is a fantastic hummus-type dip that whips up in about 5 minutes. Over time I have made some adjustments to suit my particular tastes: I add 2 cloves garlic, 3 tablespoons olive oil (this makes it very rich, and gives it a great texture), 1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar, and 2 teaspoons soy sauce. I also add a few squirts of lemon juice. The most important advice I can about this recipe is to make sure you use a *packed* 1/2 cup of basil. Measure the basil until it fills the 1/2 cup totally packed down. This gives it the perfect basil-y flavor!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Heather Rocke
This was good and quick. I do agree that lemon juice is necessary. Served with celery and carrots, was a yummy & healthy option next to the other high-fat appetizers that I served.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: CapreseStacy
Delicious, unique hummus. I had some fresh basil to use up and this was a great use for it. Like other reviewers, I added some lemon juice, plus a little extra oil and water to achieve a smoother texture. I also added a dash of hot sauce for a little added dimension. Thanks, Dan, for an easy and tasty recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Neeley
This was soooooo good! I added more olive oil, one more clove of garlic and the juice of a whole lemon. I loved the garlic and basil flavor in this hummus!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Jennifer
Awesome! It was gone in a day. I eyeballed all the ingredients, didn't measure exactly. Would be great to mix and match different herbs and seasonings...I'll definitely be making this again very soon!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: SP
I made this for a bunch of people who had never tried hummus before and everyone loved it! I used fresh basil and a little more oil than was called for and it was perfect! We served it on garlic toasted pita.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes