My Reviews (33)

Banana and Nut Porridge

A warm, filling breakfast with a fruity twist. When my bananas begin to get overly ripe, I peel them and put them in plastic freezer bags. This is a great recipe for using frozen bananas, but you can also use ripe bananas.
Reviews (33)


05 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: CC<3's2bake
I would love to give this 5 stars for everything else, but made as written, it is exceedingly sweet, too much even for this sweet tooth. I could only eat half the bowl. I will make this again, but cut the honey way down, or use a bit of maple syrup instead. Ripe bananas are pretty sweet to begin with, so 3 tbs of honey takes it too far. Also, use ground flax instead of flax seeds, as the nutrition benefits of flax are only released when the seeds are ground. Steel cut oats can be adapted to this recipe. Keep a parcooked container of steel cuts in the refrigerator to use in place of the quick oats. Still cook as directed and they will turn out great. I love the combination of banana and walnuts in this recipe. Flavor and crunch! Thanks for sharing, Sunshine7!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 May 2010
Reviewed by: Jillian
Delicious and great for breakfast! I used wheat germ instead of flax seeds and maple syup instead of honey plus added a little cinnamon and nutmeg. I added a few additional slices of banana on top. Nice recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Stacie Anderson
Please note, the only way to receive the benefits of flax seed is for them to be finely ground or use flax seed oil. The body can't break down flax seed in it's whole form. Therefore, there's no benefit to eating flax seed whole.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: OkinawanPrincess
What better way than to start off my morning with a warm oatmeal with bananas and walnuts! This morning I used steel cut oatmeals instead of quick cooking oats and very little skim milk. I used wheat germ instead of flax seeds and brown sugar in place of honey. I also added a few additional slices of bananas on top. This was satisfying, healthy and delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Sheri O.
Surprisingly good! This is a quick, healthy breakfast and even my 5 year old really liked it. I didn't have honey so I used some brown sugar. I will definitely do this again. The oatmeal was a little chewy so I'll add a little more milk next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2010
This was great - I used wheat germ instead of the flax - but will just eliminate it next time and use all oats. I tried pecans instead of walnuts - think either would be good. I did add a bit of brown sugar - maybe next time I'll add a dab of peanut butter to go with that banana!!! This was easy and quick and I knew exactly what I put in it - as opposed to all those packet-mix oatmeals!!! You could even do bettter than those packets - you could use this as a base (minus the banana) and add your own peaches and cream, maple and brown sugar, or apples and cinnamon!!!! Thanks for the great recipe and recipe base!!!!!!!!! Ten stars!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: kellieann
I reduced the honey to one tablespoon and it was still WAY too sweet. Won't make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Ann
I used 1 TBS wheat germ and only 1 TBS honey. Turned out yummy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: pxgallagher
A bit too sweet, but realize that flax not only needs to be ground but it also looses its nutritional value when it is heated - so don't waste your money on the flax seed (or any other product that is cooked with flax seeds/oil).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 May 2012
Reviewed by: Liz
The concept of this recipe, in my opinion, deserves 3 stars. You do have to change the flax seeds to be sure you used ground flax seeds. And, that is too much honey, way too sweet. But, I used ground flax seed, less honey, and I used old fashion oats and just put the honey, banana, flax seed and walnuts on at the end. I eat this at least once a week, thanks for inspiring a healthy breakfast I can add to my rotation!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes