My Reviews (203)

Banana and Pecan Bread

This banana bread is wonderful served warm with butter. It is a lovely gift in small loaf tins. If pecans aren't your forte, substitute walnuts.
Reviews (203)


08 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: alandav08
Great easy recipe. I will try adding extra banana next time for extra flavor.
 
19 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: ICOOK4FUN
This banana nut bread was moist and delicious. I increased the amount of banana to 1 3/4 cup(about 5 sm/med bananas)and added 1/2 tsp.cinnamon, and 1/4 tsp.nutmeg and used one loaf pan. I tented with foil after loaf had lightly browned and baked a total of 60 min. Thanks for the great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: DEBBIELEE3
My family just loved this bread and I thought it was very easy to make. I did use only one loaf pan however. The cooking time was a lot longer than the recipe states. Once the outside of the bread browned the way we like it, I covered the top with foil and continued baking until a knife inserted in the center came out clean. The texture is very moist and the bread is extremely flavorful. This is a new family favorite at our house!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: ROBBIE97
this was very delicious. Added a little more bannas also covered with foil the last 20 minutes of cooking. I will definitely use this one again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: SAMEENA
This is a eazy and quick recipe _ i made muffind instead of bread ( just cooked it less time about 15 -18 minutes for muffins ). They taste great. This recipe is a keeper THANKS Leslie !!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: SDK0627
Very moist and great flavor. I made a few modifications. I doubled the nuts, vanilla and added about 1/2 cup more bananas. I followed the advice of previous reviews and made (1) 9x5 loaf. It turned out great!!! Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: YELLIE73
Awesome!!! I have been using a similar Banana Nut Bread recipe but thought I would give a new one a try and this one is fantastic. I did add a little more bananas to the recipe. This one is definitely a keeper. I will use this everytime.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I made this recipe with my oldest son so he did most of the cooking on his own. We made one half recipe--which came down to 10 servings. We made a few small changes--we cut the sugar back to just over a half cup and we used melted butter instead of vegetable oil AND we cut the amount in half and used homemade organic applesauce in place the missing butter/fat. Because I always do this with muffins, I used a teaspoon each of both baking soda and baking powder. It's just something I've done for a while now and I just don't mess with success. We chose to make muffins out of this recipe. We got 12 large muffins (two more servings than what the calculator had listed--no big for us, it'll get eaten) out of a halved recipe. Mine were done at exactly 20 minutes. I have to say this was one of the most pretty banana nut bread recipes I've ever made. The muffins are just gorgeous. They look like bakery muffins. My son and I shared one muffin (taste testing the end product......very important) and the flavor is wonderful. Everything seems to be portioned just right and it dosen't seem to be missing anything. He went to bed tonight quite proud of himself and we're ahead of the game for breakfast tomorrow. I'll make this one again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: Cathy
This recipe would have been enough for one of my glass loaf pans. I still split the recipe in half and made two really nice loaves of banana nut bread. The bread was moist and very good. I had to leave it in just a bit longer (about 10 minutes) on the loaf with more batter, but it was still very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Amy
Perfect!!! USed this recipe because the others all called for sour cream and I didnt have any at the time. This was delicious. Of course I had to make some modifications with what I had so I'll list them here, but they were minor. I used 1 1/2 cups of bananas instead of 1 cup, and added some cinnamon ( 1 1/2 tsp) and along with the vanilla extract, 1 tsp of rum extract. I baked it in two 8 x 4 loaf pans as directed. Perfect, perfect, perfect. Thanks Leslie!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes