My Reviews (90)

Baked Cheese and Onion Dip

A simple four ingredient recipe that is packed with flavour but has the simple twist of being baked so can be served warm or cold.
Reviews (90)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
SHELLYHELM said:
Used different ingredients. My husband loved this dip!!! I followed another recommendation and used 1 package reduced fat philly cream cheese, 1/2 cup lowfat sour cream and 1/2 cup mayo and it did not turn out greasy at all. I also added half swiss cheese and half cheddar and that made it perfect!! Would highly recommend!!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: JAKKPETERS
Try baking this dish in a "bread bowl". I have found that the bread absorbes the oil. The dip itself is very good!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: SPAK
Absolutely awful. I used light mayo and still had literally 1-1/2 cups of grease just swimming in it. (And that's what I could drain.) The mayo curdled during baking. I couldn't eat it.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: michellereno
This dip was a HUGE hit at our family Christmas!! If you loves hot cheese and onion, this one is the BEST! I served with crackers and it went quickly. So easy too. Would work well with chips too. I used old cheddar and white onions. Mmmmmmmm!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Susan
I used cheddar for the cheese and it was not greasy. Be sure to cut the recipe in half for a small crowd as it makes a lot! Otherwise great! I also added the leftovers to a cheddar rice soup for added flavour. Great!
 
22 Jun 2004
Reviewed by: amanda
My husband loved this dip!!! I followed another recommendation and used 1 package reduced fat philly cream cheese, 1/2 cup lowfat sour cream and 1/2 cup mayo and it did not turn out greasy at all. I also added half swiss cheese and half cheddar and that made it perfect!! Would highly recommend!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: BUNKYDARL
Try baking this dish in a "bread bowl". I have found that the bread absorbes the oil. The dip itself is very good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 May 2006
This was great. I made changed based on other reviews. I cut the recipe in half. I used 1/2 cup mayo and 1/2 cup sour cream. I used 4 ounces cream cheese and 4 ounces cheddar. It was wonderful and not greasy at all. I will definatly be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 May 2005
Reviewed by: SWEETESTSIN2182
This recipe is quick, easy, cheap and incredibly good. I made this one Saturday afternoon for friends who were coming over to watch some t.v and just hang out...it was gone within a good 15-20 minutes. For those that complain about the grease, I suggest doing 1 cup mayonaise and 1 cup sour cream to cut down on the grease. You could also use reduced-fat cheddar cheese and mayonaise. Excellent recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: STOKKA
I used a monteray/cheddar blend for the cheese and it was not greasy. Be sure to cut the recipe in half for a small crowd as it makes a lot! Otherwise great! I also added the leftovers to a cheddar rice soup for added flavor. Great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes