My Reviews (352)

Banana and Choc Chip Cake

Chocolate chips and banana are a tantalizing combination in this easy to make cake recipe that is perfect for a get together or time alone.
Reviews (352)


16 May 2010
Reviewed by: guthrli1
Had friends coming over with teenage boys so needed a quick solution. Was super easy and everyone loved it. A moist and slightly heavy cake so very filling.
 
21 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Sara
Okay, so I made some changes after reading all the other reviews, and with these changes, this cake is amazing!!! Here are the changes I made: 1 cup white sugar, 2 large bananas, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 cup chocolate chips, 1/2 cup butterscotch chips, used baking SODA instead of baking powder, and sprinkled powdered sugar on top after it cooled. Baked at 350 for 40 minutes in an 8x8 pan. Everything else was the same as the original recipe. The cake came out super moist, thick (not thin), and tasted delicious. I will definitely be making this again!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: Jill Artlip Lilly
I did not read the reviews before I made this, so my "cake" did turn out a little thin, HOWEVER, this is a really good, quick dessert. I was invited for dinner and wanted to bring something. Everyone seemed to like this. Changes I made: I used two large bananas, which equaled about 1 1/2 -2 cups mashed bananas. I used one full cup of sugar because usually banana bread isn't sweet enough. I added about one teaspoon of vanilla. I also used about two handfuls of milk chocolate chips. I don't like the semi-sweet. I had no complaints and the chips really gave a good twist to regular banana bread. With the additions, it was plenty sweet and very, very moist. I had to bake it the full 35 minutes, almost 40 minutes, due to the additions. As a rule, I always set my timer about ten minutes early because you never know about your particular oven.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: CulinaryCutie
Excellent! This turned out wonderful! Be sure to read the reviews, though. I doubled the recipe to make it more of a cake rather than the bars like other cooks were doing. I topped it with chocolate frosting and sprinkles. Very fun and will definitely make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 May 2007
Reviewed by: emmalou
Very good dessert. It is a thin cake, for a normal cake thickness I would recomend doubling the recipe. By using chocolate chips there is no need for icing. I did add 1/2 tsp. of vanilla. And I used baking soda not baking powder. All homemade cakes call for baking soda, it works much better than baking powder as a leavener. For example, I made a homeade chocolate cake and by accident used baking powder instead of baking soda, and it came out very thick like brownies. When I made that same cake again, I used baking soda and it was a cake consistancy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
I used three mashed bananas, I didn't measure out a cupful. I just opened three and mashed those. I also used part of a leftover can of fat free evaporated milk and mini chocolate chips instead of regular. One of the better banana breads I've had in a long time. I made muffins out of this recipe and I did NOT get 24 out of this recipe, I got 12 and they were a little on the small side. 350* for exactly 20 minutes and they were perfect. I'll use this recipe again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: Renee
I made this recipe as is, except for putting it in an 8x8 pan. It turned out just fine. Plenty of banana flavor, more than enough choc.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: cakeexpectations
Pleasantly surprised by this. Had tried a banana and chocolate loaf from the bbcgoodfood website previously and found it to be dry and overpowered by the banana. This was delicious, moist, easy to make and wonderful. I made it in a 10" loaf tin rather than a baking tray and also covered the top with chocolate ganache to add a bit more chocolate. Mmm!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
16 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Fujiko
I enjoyed this cake. I, too, had problems with it not being enough batter to make a "real" cake; it resembled bars. If you want more of a cake, then either make 2x the recipe or bake it in a smaller pan (8x8 square would suffice). I was happy with the bars, though, and I will definately make this again. I may try a cream cheese frosting in the future, although it tastes good without frosting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: MRSGOOGS
I doubled the recipe and cooked it in a 9 by 18 pan for about 10 minutes longer. This is the best banana cake I've ever had. I didn't even have to frost it, and it was so moist! I used barely ripe bananas, so it wasn't too sweet. Great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes