My Reviews (84)

Low-Fat Banana Bread

I developed this recipe because I wanted an actual banana bread recipe, not banana cake. This recipe is very low in fat. The walnuts are optional.
Reviews (84)


30 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: VirginiaJ
Wonderful! I actually decided on this recipe since it called for baking powder instead of soda (which I didn't have) I halved the recipe since I cook for one and I definitely don't need a whole loaf lying around =) I did add about 2 T of melted butter to the batter as another reviewer suggested to make it a little more moist and just a dash more baking powder. It just came out a few minutes ago and it's very very yummy, just the right texture, not too heavy or dense! Will definitely make again. (Oh and sidenote....I noticed a Lot of complaints that this bread is too "dense and gummy" I'm wondering if everyone is remembering to use Very Over Ripe bananas? They should be completely brown and practically liquid themselves! If you use bananas that are not ripe enough it won't be a substitute for the liquid (i.e. milk, water) that most recipes have and the bread won't turn out right)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2000
Reviewed by: BETHFISH
I was surprised at how delicious this bread is. I made two types of bread - one claimed to be low fat, but had butter in it. This one doesn't have any butter and was better than the other one! I highly recommend this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: JWALKER
This bread is good when it first comes out of the oven. After that it is much too heavy and dry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: BrownSugar
There isn't an option for anything below a one star. I tried two other recipes that same day, and they were great! This recipe was far too dense, dry and a waste of good bananas & nuts. It never did cook all the way either. Banana Bread I, was such a good recipe, try that instead.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2000
Reviewed by: RUNWAY
This is good, dense, very bread like. Travels well
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 May 2000
Reviewed by: TOPSKOPS
A great way to use ripe bananas.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Apr 2000
Reviewed by: KATHYC4
this is one of the best banan breads i ever made. or even had from someone else. good job!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: Dora
Although this bread is hearty and delicious, I did find it somewhat dry. I will make it again because it did receive great feedback from friends/family.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Wander
I liked this recipe but I did tweak it. I added 3 tsp vanilla, 2 Tbs melted butter and a small dollop of sour cream and did half white half brown sugar.Came out rich, sweet and amazing. Highly recommended
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: KEREN M.
Once it was made it seemed too thick, otherwise the recipe was okay.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes