My Reviews (664)

Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

A great chicken recipe that I have made for years. Serve with rice and fresh veggies. Impressive!
Reviews (664)


Comment:
12 May 2013
Keyte said:
Very nice not to many additives wife and I loved it will make it again
 
03 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: JSOKOLOFF
Since writing this recipe I have changed to a skillet. Brown chicken breasts on both sides in olive oil. Squeeze 1/2 of a lemon over all. Cover with lid over medium heat. Cook til done. Turning a few more times. If you want it more lemony add a teaspoon of lemon zest. I have also added 1 more cup of mushrooms to the sauce. Thanks for the reviews.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: naples34102
This recipe would be perfect if it called for some, ANY kind of seasoning! Salt and pepper isn't even mentioned. However, last night I made "Chicken Seasoning Blend," also from this site, and I was looking for a chicken recipe to use it on - and this one seemed perfect to rescue, especially since a number of reviewers remarked that this chicken was "blah" or "boring." These two were MADE for each other! The submitter (in her review) and I were obviously on the same page, as I preferred to prepare this in a skillet rather than in the oven. I dredged the chicken in flour, seasoned it with the "Chicken Seasoning Blend," then browned it in the skillet. When making the sauce, the flour is unnecessary. Once the chicken was done I removed it from the skillet and kept it warm. I sauteed the mushrooms with fresh minced garlic (and salt and pepper of course), added a good dousing of chicken broth, lemon juice and white wine (Pinot Grigio to be exact), reduced that somewhat, then swirled in some butter at the end to thicken the sauce and to make it rich and velvety smooth. (measuring these ingredients is really unnecessary - just cook with "a little of this and a little of that" and enjoy yourself!) Served this with pasta and sauteed patty pan squash with dill. This dinner, this chicken, was right up my alley.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: TRUCKERDOO
This was very good - although it absolutely needs garlic. I marinated the chicken breasts in the olive oil and lemon juice (with additional spices like poultry spice, italian seasoning, thyme, salt and pepper) for about 3 hours, which made the deeply infused them with lemon. I baked them but also found they didn't brown, and so put them in the broiler for about 5 minutes right at the end to get that nice browned top. I also used 2 whole lemons in the entire process (and had scaled the recipe down to 2 servings) so it was quite lemony, but I like to really taste things. A nice change of pace.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: BIANKAT
Made this last night. It was simple enough, but I highly recommend doubling the sauce for your recipe. In my case, rather than using 6 breasts for the 4 serving size, I used 3 breasts and left the sauce amount as is. There was barely enough for my reduced serving. Anyway, the chicken came out beautifully. As other reviewers mentioned it could have used more flavor. I'll make sure to salt and pepper the breasts in the future. In addition, the sauce could have used more flavor. I used half broth and half wine for my version. I also added garlic powder, but it needed something more. Perhaps a bit of rosemary?? All in all I enjoyed the textures of everything, just need to spice it up a bit in the future. My accompaniments were brown rice and asparagus.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Val S.
This was very good. I took the suggestion and instead of putting it in the oven, I just cooked it in a skillet. Also didn't have lemons, so I just used lemon juice and also sprinkled Lemon Pepper seasoning. I used a whole can of Chicken Broth, so I could have more gravy. Turned out great-- my whole family enjoyed this recipe. Thanks sooo much for sharing :>)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: A7HENA
EXCELLENT!! I am going to recommend this recipe to people. I put some asparagus in with the chicken while it baked, and it soaked up the lemon flavor and tasted really good! I added some white wine with a cube of chicken boulion instead of chicken broth. It came out great and it was quite simple and is pretty fool proof. Great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: WILDE
My 14 yr. old daughter was recently diagnosed with type 1 diabetes and trying to find recipies with low carbs that everyone likes can sometimes be difficult... what pleases one turns another off, but this recipie was a HIT! Everybody loved the scent that the lemon put in the air while the chicken was baking and more importantly for my family... they all LOVED the mushroom sauce. I did however use 2 4oz. cans of sliced mushrooms and upped the chicken broth to 1 cup. The only difference was the cooking time for the sauce but it was only a matter of 2-3 minutes... Bravo Joyce for such a wonderful recipie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: viv
I marinated the chicken in lemon juice and olive oil for about an hour before cooking in the skillet as suggested by other reviewers. It turned out wonderful. I also added 1 whole cup of chicken broth which yielded a nice amount of sauce for the chicken. I'm sure a quarter cup as stated in the recipe would have been too little.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: PATSY HENNESSEY
This was a big hit at my house! I loved the lemony taste of the chicken, and the mushroom sauce was great. I used two cups of chicken broth in mine. I did make the entire batch of sauce for just two chicken breasts. I'm like everyone else. You just can't have two much of this mushroom sauce, and I would double it if I was making more than two chicken breasts. I'm probably going to this sauce for other things, as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes