My Reviews (80)

Apple Dessert Cake with Creamy Butter Sauce

This cake is almost like a pudding and makes a great dessert when served warm. Goes well with some fresh cream or vanilla ice cream.
Reviews (80)


20 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: HEIDI186
I was looking for something "autumny" to match the weather and this sounded good. Although we only had one apple in the house (we added 2 tablespoons oil so it didn't turn out dry), it was awesome!!! I can't wait to try it with 2 apples. I had my hubby take some to my picky next-door neighbor (okay, she's my mother), and she called requesting this as her standing birthday cake from this day forward. My kids didn't like it, but they don't like anything without chocolate or vanilla, so their opinions don't count. The only thing I might change is adding raisins....I think that would make this the best cake ever. Thanks for an outstanding recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: RedZinnia
This is a great recipe and it is very easy to make. My family loved it! Try adding a tablespoon of Amaretto to the butter sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: ANDLESLIE
This turned out great! I grated the apples on a cheese grater and used 1 tbl of applesauce to make it extra moist. The sauce was so tasty but it made about twice the amount one would possibly need on this cake. Overall, I loved this and will be making it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: NEOSMINE
This recipe was fabulous! I added an extra apple and the cake was so moist! The icing made too much, though. Next time I will divide the icing ingredients in half and maybe substitute vanilla for almond extract.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: WUNDERKINDER
Dicing the apples allows you to enjoy their flavor and texture more. Still, this cake got rave reviews from everyone who tasted it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: KFAHEY
So moist and yummy!! Everyone loves it- my children, my mother my husband our guests...etc... A must have!!! The sauce really makes the recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Nov 2000
Reviewed by: SISTAHMEGAN
This is by far the best ever coffee cake I have had the pleasure of baking! It is moist and quite flavourful and that butter sauce is "to die for"!!! It is quite easy to make and oh so worth it! Great for brunches or teas!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: JennyD
We celebrated my mom's 75th birthday today. Went out for Mexican food and margaritas and came home and had this for dessert. I baked the cake earlier but did not feel like shredding the apples so I cut them in small cubes. Then I made the sauce when we got home adding the 1 T. Amaretto as suggested in another review. It was delicious! Everyone was 'umm'ing and Mom said that was the best cake she had had in a long time. Gave her the leftovers to take home. Reminded us of a bread pudding. Next time I think I will serve warm with the warm sauce. This one is going in my keeper file for sure.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: AZIL
I added 1 extra apple that was diced instead of grated. Everyone thought the cake was moist and delicious warm. Be sure to stir the sauce enough to completely dissolve the sugar. Very good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: ROSALIETIEN
This is the easiest cake I've ever made. It didn't even take the whole 50 minutes. It smelled and tasted great! It's ever so moist, too. I really like the creamy sauce but wish that it's more custardlike. I can't really taste the apples so may add more in the future. I will definitely make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes