My Reviews (797)

Gluten Free Chickpea Chocolate Cake

A very good high protein alternative to flourless chocolate cake. You need a food processor to do the mixing. Give it a try!
Reviews (797)


21 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: Allrecipes
Thanks for pointing that out OliverB. The recipe has been updated.
 
Comment:
11 Oct 2012
mekennedy said:
 
Comment:
15 Jul 2010
alibubba said:
Something else. I cooked it longer than specified, but my oven is unreliable.
 
10 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Pam
Great recipe. I made it into cupcakes, but I did tweek it a little. I added a teaspoon of baking powder, a teaspoon of vanilla and 5 tablespoons of butter. (I melted the butter in with the chocolate.) Fill your cupcake tin almost to the top with the batter. I baked for 23 minutes and they were moist and delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: PrinceAlbertofPA
Incredible! I shared this with co-workers and they loved it. The taste of gluten-free food keeps getting better and better. Note for previous reviewer: Hershey, Reeses, & WalMart Brand chocolate chips are GF...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Countess
My mother-in-law is gluten and lactose intolerant, so I thought I'd give this a shot on her last visit. Yum! Very cakelike, good nutty texture and taste from the beans. I think I would change it by adding a bit of vanilla, and using bittersweet chocolate, but otherwise it's great. I'm going to keep making it for myself even though she's gone home. :-) Make sure the flour you use to dust the pan is gluten-free, or even better, use cocoa instead.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Heidi
Uh, this is RIDICULOUS... Ridiculously fantastic! For a point of reference, I have been buying the Trader Joe's flourless chocolate cake... this recipe is just as good if not better! I substituted 1/3C egg whites for two of the four eggs. I also used 1/2 C milk chocolate chips and 1 C. semi sweet chips, and dusted the pan with unsweetened coco pwdr. I have a gluten intolerance and only use Ghiradelli as Hershey's is difficult to get an answer about allergies. Hope this is helpful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: kmarwaha
This cake is the most delicious and decedent chocolate cake I have ever tasted! For all those reviewers who are giving this recipe 1/5 stars, you must NOT be following the recipe correctly. It actually upsets me reading the negative reviews. How is possible to be biting into a bean? You are supposed to be blending the beans into a smooth mixture via a food processor! How is it dry? The recipe calls for 4 eggs! Grainy? Again, mix via food processor to a smooth consistency and wash the beans thoroughly beforehand. Not sweet enough or chocolately enough? Are you using the correct measuring spoons?! Anyone who follows this recipe to the exact T should be successful in making a delicious cake. If you have a good quality food processor, a non stick baking pan, and you know how to read and follow instructions, this cake will turn out fantastic. Good luck!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: rmr4685
I made this cake out of plain curiosity in my search for healthy deserts - it was so much better than i had ever imagined! Garbanzo beans...who would have thought? I covered the cake with strawberries and sifted powdered sugar - it was a hit! I think the strawberries gave the cake the sugar/sweetness that a frosting would have normally - next time i will try out different fruits
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Javagoddess
Unbelievable! I tried this because I thought it sounded interesting (maybe a little bit weird). I told my husband to try it first since I wasn't sure. But it is THE BEST FLOURLESS CHOCOLATE CAKE I've ever had! It's rich, sweet, intensely chocolate--awesome!!!!!! Everyone should give this a try. The ingredients might seem odd, but the technique is simple, and the results are good enough to sell in a bakery! (Only recipe note: I turned my oven up to 360 instead of 350 since I'm at high altitude.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes