My Reviews (797)

Gluten Free Chickpea Chocolate Cake

A very good high protein alternative to flourless chocolate cake. You need a food processor to do the mixing. Give it a try!
Reviews (797)


11 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: mekennedy
I make this recipe with just one can of chick peas and used sugarless applesauce instead of sugar. I use about a cup of applesauce and the cake is so moist and lasts longer. I also make a glaze out of melted chocolate and sherry. This is a huge hit in my family and I'm always asked to bring it to parties. Also, my son is diabetic and it is so easy to figure out the carbs and fibre in this recipe!
 
15 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: alibubba
Yum! Turned out really well. Nice nutty flavour but overall chocolate yumminess I will try it with white chocolate next!
 
Comment:
19 Jul 2010
alibubba said:
Used different ingredients. I tried it with Cannellini beans ala Nigella, the consistency is different, it rises a lot more but takes longer to cook. Also we all had sick bellies afterwards, like eating too much brown rice :S
 
25 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: KiwiBritAussie
I just made this cake using dairy free chocolate (so was a little expensive) but so worth it. Absolutely gorgeous texture, taste and came out perfectly cooked from an unreliable oven. Tastes lovely and nutty with the chickpeas and was a breeze to make. Will be passing on the recipe!
 
03 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: threemonkeys_77
OMG! I'm a chocolate nut and I have made many choc cakes in my time... but... oh my! Served it to about 20 people and it's rich and moist and now everyone is ordering it for their birthday cake, gluten-free or not! Btw, if you don't have a food processor, just use a hand blender, worked fine for me.
 
11 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: jjhandmade
Was a little apprehensive but this turned out so lovely and moist, was flavoursome and nothing but crumbs left. Will definitely be making this over and over again
 
22 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: Binnyjh
The kids and I really liked this recipe (Miss 5 is super fussy and loved it) but I'm giving it a 4/5 as the dark chocolate was a bit too strong for us. Don't be tempted to try it with WHITE CHOCOLATE. I did & had to throw them all out. Blah. Couldn't even notice the chickpea flavour with the dark chocolate ones though. Everyone who ate them thought I was kidding. Oh, and I made them as small muffins instead so I could easily add to school lunch boxes and reduced cooking time to 25>30 mins.
 
13 May 2014
Reviewed by: GeeTee
This was yummy and very easy. I only had one can of chickpeas so I wizzed some almonds (which came to about 2/3 cup). I also used less sugar (about 1/2 cup) and two tablespoons of unsweetened puréed apple, and used half dark/half milk chocolate. It was incredibly moist and delicious and all the guests raved about it. Don't be dismayed that it sinks a lot after cooking - it turns out fine. Some fresh strawberries and double cream on the side were perfect accompaniments.
 
18 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: OliverB
Great taste, but just want to bring attention to the first step. You have said "Grease and flour". Isn't it supposed to be gluten free? Just think you need to edit the recipe for safety reasons.
 
23 May 2010
Reviewed by: tasyak
Absolutely beautiful
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes