My Reviews (107)

Moroccan harira soup

This is the soup that Moroccans traditionally use to break the fast every night of Ramadan. Before serving, season with salt, pepper, mint leaves and cinnamon to taste.
Reviews (107)


05 Jul 2000
Reviewed by: bladi
I can attest that this recipe is authentic!! I have had many a night to break the fast during Ramadan. It reminds me of my home in Khemisset, Morocco. I am sad to say that I need to come to the web to learn to cook foods from my country because I was rasied in this country. Yet this truly is an authentic recipe, and I recommend it to all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: KIMAR
Very different soup! Next time I would add some salt along with the other ingredients in Step 1. It definitely needed some salt, and adding salt after the fact didn't seem to help. My husband complained of a "vinegar" taste, which we attributed to the juice of a whole lemon. Perhaps only 1/2 of a lemon should be used. The taste of the lamb is very distinctive, so if you don't like lamb, perhaps you could substitute pork or beef.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: TRADY'S LADY
Thanks so much for the recipe. My husband is Moroccan and loved it. It felt it had a truly authentic taste, but was missing salt in STEP 1. I was adding so many ingredients, it didn't even hit me until he said it was saltless. Easy fix- we just added at the table. I didn't add the lemon, since I thought that would make it taste funny...other than that. This is an excellent way for an American woman like myself to give my husband some good ole' home cooking!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: newcook
My moroccan husband said this was very authentic and we loved the taste. I added beef broth, left the onions whole and then removed them and skipped the vermicelli. Also, according to my husband, the recipe would be better off with a tomato sauce instead of diced tomatoes. It was really great though and the taste was just like the soup my husband's sister made for us in Morocco.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: CreativeCook
Very good ethnic recipe. I followed the recipe for the most part - 3 cups water, 4 cups beef broth; fresh tomatoes instead of canned, no pasta or egg, but just 1 lb of lentils. Served over basmati rice - excellent! Made a ton and the lamb was very, very tender after being in the slow cooker for 8 hours.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Sugar Mama
Okay, I do not know how to correctly pronounce the name of this soup so I have been calling it the "Rockin' Moroccan Soup!" I made the soup exactly like the recipe says, but one change... I used 3/4 cup couscous instead of the vermicelli pasta, since so many people said it was unnecessary. It was perfect!!! Absolutely delicious!!! All the spices gave it a wonderful authentic taste. Hubby and I both loved it!!! I will definitely be keeping this one on my personal recipe book to make over and over again. Thanks!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: EMAPERU
Very good and interesting!You really have to like lamb-it really permeates the flavor.I added about 6 cloves of garlic and about 4 Tb salt,since I can't seem to cook anything without either!I also didn't have noodles so I used 3/4 cup dry cous cous instead.I don't know if these changes are Harira faux pas,but they were good anyway!My kids even ate it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: lc@singapore
Thanks Usman for a superb recipe and I'm definitely giving it a 5 cos we love middle-eastern food! I added 2 nos. of marrow bone, blanch it with the cut lamb & simmer it for an hour before adding in the other ingredients. I left out the pasta and egg. Served it with bread & lemon wedges at the side instead. Next time, I'll add in the eggs just before serving. Certainly taste better next day & family loves it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: MCKA
This is delicious and very easy to make. I did mine without the pasta and it was great. My only suggestion is to add more lamb...it got a bit lost in the stew.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: BOOBINSON
A wonderful and very different recipe. Make sure you break up the vermicelli so that you are not trying to contend with long noodles in addition to the rest of the ingredients. Also, I would probably use slightly less cinnamon next time. Nevertheless, this soup came out superb. Also: The turmeric can turn things yellow like it did my wooden spoon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes