My Reviews (227)

Chicken with a Cashew Crust

Here's a way to make a chicken breast a bit more interesting: coat them in apricot and mustard sauce and crust with cashews.
Reviews (227)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
OJOS said:
Something else. My husband and I really liked this chicken. Things I did to make it better were... Chopped the cashews finely in the food processor, so they were fine enough to stick to the chicken. Pounded the chicken to a little less than a half inch, so it was more tender. Then I cooked the chicken on a cooling rack over a baking tray lined with aluminium; this kept the bottom of the chicken from getting soggy.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: 2Yung2Cook
Great tasty, easy recipe! Some other reviewers thought that there wasn't enough taste. I found that you have to pour the extra sauce over the chicken before serving, and that adds the taste you need. Also, I omitted the curry and used garlic and a dash of teriyaki sauce instead, and substituted well crushed peanuts for the cashews. The sauce came out like a nice tangy duck sauce. Orange marmalade would work well in this recipe. Next time I will try cranberry sauce, port and cinnamon or allspice for the sauce, with minced walnuts as the crust. Thanks Brennan for a great recipe!
 
08 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Cathrine
Oh my!!! This is divine, what a gorgeous flavour and so easy. My only problem was that some of the cashew coating came off which obviously affected presentation but will definitely make this over and over again.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
FLORIDA_GIRL said:
Used different ingredients. GREAT recipe - and so easy! I cut the chicken into bite-sized pieces, which cut the baking time to 25-30 minutes. Also added dried chillies to add a "zing" and make it more Asian. Quite delicious. Thanks!!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: bellygirl
Outstanding! I wasn't sure how I would like this, just, cooking chicken in apricot preserves sounded a bit too sweet for my taste. But, it tastes a lot better than the ingredients sounded in my head. This is one of the better recipes I have found here and will be cooked repeatedly in my house. Everyone, including the kids, loved it!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Lyn Wareham
Easy and elegant! I can't wait to serve this at my next dinner party. be sure to double the sauce recipe, though - they'll want more!
 
05 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: AndyFriedrichs
 
30 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: KatieR
Yum! Very tasty.
 
12 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Jennifer Aprile
My husband and I really liked this chicken. Things I did to make it better were... Chopped the cashews finely in the food processor, so they were fine enough to stick to the chicken. Pounded the chicken breasts to a little less than a half inch, so it was more tender. Then I cooked the chicken on a cooling rack over a cookie sheet lined with aluminum; this kept the bottom of the chicken from getting soggy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: Debra
Great tasty, easy recipe! Some other reviewers thought that there wasn't enough taste. I found that you have to pour the extra sauce over the chicken before serving, and that adds the taste you need. Also, I omitted the curry and used garlic powder and a dash of teriyaki sauce instead, and substituted well crushed peanuts for the cashews. The sauce came out like a nice tangy duck sauce. Orange marmalade would work well in this recipe. Next time I will try jellied cranberry sauce, port wine, and cinnamon or allspice for the sauce, with minced walnuts as the crust. Thanks Brennan for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes